Daring Drinks: Yeo’s Grass Jelly

Oh the mystery, the suspension!
 
 
IMGP1104b

 
 
There’s this huge Asian supermarket close to my station when hopping trains and I tend to pick up something new every time, to see um.. what it is and whether it contains magical powers!
 
 
whatitis
 
 
Grass jelly is a vegan herbal jelly! It’s created by boiling the¬†aged and slightly oxidized stalks and leaves of¬†Mesona chinensis.
It’s supposed to be a healthy desert/snack and should cool you down as well – seems like I chose the right time to try it out huh!
 
Okay! So I cooled it, gave it a nice shake as the packaging suggests, and let’s try it!
 
 
grass jelly drink
 
 
That shake made it a little frothy.. and the color is just like a coke!
 
 

Any good?

 
 
There’s no fizz in there, it’s just still.
 
I think we’ve all eaten some random grass at some point, and it doesn’t taste like that at all!
A lot more herbal and deep, much like wheatgrass – actually it reminds me a lot of herbal laxatives!
 
 
tablets
 
 
But then more of a light, sweetened version of that.
Ohhh man I bet you’re thinking that sure sounds yummy!
 
As for the most exciting part, the jelly!
 
 
yeo's grass jelly
 
 
The actual grass jelly in there is a nice addition if you enjoy a chew in your drink! This stuff is often added to bubble tea as well. The consistency is literally like jello, super soft.
 
 

Can I get you another one?

 
 
3
 
 
It’s not bad, I learnt to appreciate the herbal taste once I was able to get over the laxative-link!
This is definitely one of those things that needs to be icy cold for it to not taste dull though, like Aquarius, you know?
 
I’d love to hear your feedback!
Is this a type of post you’d like to see again?
 
Also, let me know if there’s anything odd I just neeeed to try!
 
 
Race you to Friday!
~Anouchka

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on October 10, 2013, in Box o' food, Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. I’ve never heard of something like this…sounds interesting although I think I’d need to add a touch of vodka!

  2. het lijkt me niks, maar het kan toch wel wat zijn. mmm, dit is zoiets dat je gewoon 1x moet proberen

  3. Eeks, nooo >< I tried bubble tea a little while back and while I liked the tea part, the bubbles were not my eh cup of tea ;) such a shame that this drink has bubble-thingies in it as well :(

  4. I’ve never tried this, but it actually sounds really good! I’ll try it next time I visit a toko!

  5. Strange little drink… I’m intrigued though :-)

  6. Maybe you should mix it with the herbal laxatives? I like posts like this, self-experiments are always great!

  7. volgens mij heb ik deze ook wel eens geprobeerd :P vond het wel lekker. lekkerste vond ik nog milk tea met pearls ^^

  8. Perhaps you should try it out again in six months… ;-)

  9. Ik dacht eerder ook dat het drankje groen zou zijn haha!

  10. Haha ik dacht dat er iets groenigs uit zou komen, beetje modder achtig ofzo haha ;-) Maar dit ziet eruit als cola dus hmm maar ik moet het altijd eerst ruiken voor ik het zou drinken.

  11. Oh LOL I know exactly what it is! Back home it’s popular for summer, and you’re right: you have to drink it ice cold! I’ve never had the canned version here though. Now I’m a bit curious ;) It’s not supposed to be frothy or bubbly, just so you know that part is normal!

    • Ahh thanks for sharing your professional input Sunny, I appreciate that :D have you ever eaten grass jelly as desert? I heard you can mix it with ice and put some syrup on top. That sounded pretty yummy.

  12. How interesting. Didn’t expect that color for the drink.

  1. Pingback: Daring Drinks: Pearl Taro Milk Drink With Tapioca | lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

