Lush T’eo Deodorant!

I read somewhere this is a thing only die hard “lushies” would test. Don’t know about that, all I knew is my cha-chas kept hurting from chemical deodorants and I needed a change.
 
This week is all about running around for me – which does provide the perfect circumstances to test this stuff to the MAX. ;D Let’s go!
 
 
lush deodorant
 

 
Does look intriguing right? And it smells even more intriguing.. hmmmm…
First time I wore this Hippo’s initial response was “are you wearing soap?”.
It doesn’t smell like soap per se but it does have that intensely fresh zingy smell, which can be explained by the ingredients:
 
Sodium Bicarbonate , Cream of Tartar (Tartaric acid) , Apricot Kernel Oil (Prunus armeniaca) , BlueWax (Specerit Blue C) , Tea Tree Oil (Melaleuca alternifolia) , Magnesium Carbonate , Lemon Oil (Citrus limonum) , Juniperberry Oil (Juniperus communis) ,Lemongrass Oil (Cymbopogan flexuosus) , Fresh Grape Juice (Vitis vinifera) , Blue Cornflower Petals (Centaurea cyanus) , Citral, Eugenol , Geraniol , Citronellol , Limonene , Linalool ,Perfume
 
Juniper berry and lemon grass are the most prominent smells for me!
 
 
IMGP8910
 
 
The back is covered in blue wax to keep it from crumbling all over your dresser.
 

But how does it work?

 
Sweat in itself doesn’t smell, it’s the bacteria that did it! All point to them! Evil!
This bar doesn’t keep you from transpiring but it absorbs the moisture, keeps the area disinfected and leaves you with a zesty fresh smell.
 
The active ingredients include baking soda for its absorbing properties and juniper berry, tea tree & lemongrass to fight the bacteria.
 
 
IMGP8897c
 
 
Rub rub rub the bar
 
 
IMGP8905
 
 
And apply to the desired area!
You can apply it straight from the bar but I was told it might harden up the surface, scrape the top off if that happens!
 

So does it work?

 
Without a doubt, even when you smell funky already this will turn it around and freshen you up by knocking down the bacteria that were settling in.
But basically it comes down to the fact that you have to be willing to put in the works – bring it with and reapply after about three hours.
 
As this doesn’t shut off the pores my congas have stopped hurting! I’ll hang onto this for after the shower and on relaxing days.
And for when I just want to smell like a field of ridiculiusly fresh lemony pines.
 

Verdict

 
3/5, it fulfills its purpose! But requires some dedication.
 
$8.95 for one bar isn’t bad at all though, you barely need any product and i’d honestly repurchase even for the scent.
 
 
dress upb
 
 
Because a kick under the booty is sometimes needed. Courage and let’s race through this week together! As fast as possible.
~ Anouchka
 
 

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on September 4, 2013, in Box o' appearance, General, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. This looks really neat, and I would love to try it, but am super allergic to lemons/citrus! :'(
    Have you tried the crystal yet? I can get away with using it on most days.. although REALLY stressful days still call for the real stuff, unfortunately. Good thing I don’t have many of those really stressful ones :-)

    I’ve read that coconut oil is another magical natural armpit bacteria blocker… I haven’t tried it yet though for fear of staining my clothing. Maybe you will be braver than I, or figure out an ingenious way around the stain factor! XO

    • Nooo! How annoying, there’s citrus in so many things! Lush does have a couple of deodorants though thankfully. ^_^ http://www.lushusa.com/Deodorants/deodorants,en_US,sc.html

      I’ve tried the crystal and like you say it workls perfectly except for ridiculous days! After a while it felt like I almost got used to it though and it didn’t work so well anymore? Or it could be the fact that they turned bad.

      Coconut oil oooh…. I wouldn’t mind smelling like coconut… that sounds lovely. :D Going to look into that, thanks! There’s also recipes out there to make your own natural deodorant, can’t wait to play around with that and add some lovely scents to it.

  2. Really really cool!! I might have to try this but it does seem like a ton of work. Good for you for that dedication!

  3. Wow, that’s weird D: Never seen anything like that before.

  4. My grandma used to use a mixture of baking soda and baby powder as a deodorant. I think she got the same effect as you.

    • That probably worked great, add some essentials oils in there and it’s a double or even tripple whammy! I love how Lush keeps their ingredients simple to the point that you can make things like it yourself.

  5. I’ve heard of this – appreciate the review. For those living with cancer and working to eliminate chemicals in the body, or those with sensitive skin, or getting concerned with all the chemical exposure – this looks VERY promising. Tea tree oil is great – and I love the smell of lemon grass.Thanks

    • Totally, i’m trusting chemical spray bottle deodorants less and less. Some give less problems than others but that still doesn’t necessarily make them good. Hmm lemon grass is great right.. ^_^

  6. I had no idea how it works, so I never got it, it always looked as if it would be finished after 3 uses, but I thought you’d need water :p
    Lush used to have 2 that need water, but they smell funny, like patchouli, I didn’t like it… in the end, I just don’t wear deo, most hurt or smell funny :p I just use perfume :)

    nice review, don’t think i’ll get this one though ^^

Speak your mind!

