FOTD: Mellow Yellow

Howdy ho!
Last time I posted a bit of a sultry yellow smokey situation, and it’s about time for the second play time in the yellow series. A mellow wearable one this time!
 
Doing this series is actually making me a lot more comfortable with the shade.
 
So somehow I love the combo of silver with yellow, it reminds me of a beautiful ring.. the warm yellow against the cool metal is just BOOM BLAM KAPOW.
There’s inspiration everywhere huh!
 
 
3

 
 
Ah in fact I wear a yellow gemmed ring on my hand as well! Every single day. A gift from mumsy dearest. I’ve grown so accustomed to wearing it I forgot.. :D
 
 
IMG25770-20130730-1523
 
 
So I figured that combo would be a good place to start!
 
 
IMGP7853
 
 
In the spotlight today is Illamasqua’s Hype! A lovely vibrant sunny yellow.
 
 
IMGP7814c
 
IMGP7811b
 
IMGP7808
 
 

Steps

 
IMGP7756-tile
 
 

What’s that on your face?

 

Eyes

 
1) Base for the yellow to stick to
 

inglot white gel liner

 
Inglot’s Gel Liner in 76 is getting lots of use!
 
2) Grey inner corner
 

illamasqua Soul

 
Illamasqua’s Soul, a lovely very white based grey with a great sheen to it.. ugh so pretty.
 
3) Yellow lid
 

IMGP7904b

 
Illamasqua’s Hype!
 
4) Metallic grey outer V and warm crease
 

metal mania palette

 
These greys in the Coastal Scents Metal Mania palette are lovely.. soo much choice.
On my eyes now is this sort of minky dark one.
 

88 matte palette

 
I did use a bit of a dark beige shade into the crease, for some warmth.
 
5) Liner
 
IMGP7935
 
Pencil liner dotted along the bottom, this is Urban Decay’s 24/7 liner in Zero, just a black.
This is not cruelty free just using mine up (it’s taking a while) but a black is a black!
 
IMGP7923
 
Essence Liquid Liner on top
 
metal mania palette
 
Some more metallic to blend the bottom lashline
 
6) Coat those lashes!
 
IMGP7932
 
Essence Stays No Matter What mascara!
 

Face

 

 
POP Beauty Face Magnet all over the face, and the eyes & Catrice Photo Finish foundation on top
 
inglot cream concealer
 
Some Inglot Cream Concealer under and next to my eyes, and Make Up Designory transluscent powder to set everything!
 
2b bronzer
 
2B Mineral Bronzing Powder to contour my face, and 2B Mineral Blush in 01 on the cheeks!
 
essece fairy dust
 
And some Essence Fairy Dust highlighter on the cheekbones, tip of the nose, and cupid’s bow as well.
 

Lips

 
 catrice 200 get the nudes paper
 
Essence Stay Matt lip cream in 01 Velvet Rose, with some Catrice 200 Get The Nudes Paper! over it.
 
 
That’s all folks! :D
I wonder: do you own a weird eyeshadow shade / formula? One you’re not quite sure about in terms of how you would ever use it?
 
Doing this series is really getting me more into my yellows at the moment and I can’t wait to play with a more graphic look!
 
I’d love to hear from you and thanks for visiting!
~Anouchka

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on July 30, 2013, in Box o' appearance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. wow love the Illamasqua yellow, beautiiful look

  2. Aaaah ik ben jaloers. Jij hebt Illamasqua en dat staat al zo lang op mijn wishlist haha. Look ziet er goed uit!

  3. Illamasqua <3 <3 oh and this eye look is so special! I would have never thought about silver in the inner and outer corner and then brught yellow in the middle! that's so smart and beautiful!
    and about the weird shades, you know I have them (I bought fledgeling now too in London btw :p ) Oh you'd love my shopping haul hahahaha :D but I'll tell you more about that later ;)

  4. die oogschaduw is amazing! heerlijk fel :)

  5. I never really put a clearly defined accent like this in my eye looks, but it looks nice actually! Love where you get your inspiration :-)

  6. So cute makeup for the summer, a little sunshine on your eyes!
    J aime beaucoup ce maquilage a la fois estival et leger!
    Bonnne journee ma belle!

  7. WoW! Wat een gave geel! :D Love it!! <3 zou dit zo elke dag dragen hoor! ;)
    Hele mooi look weer!

  8. Mooi! Bijzondere look!

  9. Lovely and summery!! I don’t really wear yellow make-up, it’s just not a colour I have much of clothes wise but you make it work!

    ~Amy

    • Hahah I feel you :’) love yellow but somehow there’s about 3 shirts in that shade in my closet. Not even enough to fill the washer so I have to wash them by hand. Yellow isn’t that easy to grab for is it? I wore this look with a turquoise dress though under the motto “what the hey” and “when else”.

  10. Woa, your ring is echt awesome! Ik houd van de kleur, zo zacht, maar ook weer intens. Vaak is de betekenis achter een ring nog mooier. ^^ En de kleur van Illamasqua.. WOA. Wat een enorm felle gele kleur en wat combineer je hem mooi in je look. Hierdoor is hij ook best voor overdag. :D

    • Jaa precies ja! I like that about yellow gems, hebben zo’n zachte maar levendige gele kleur! :) Die Illamasqua shadow had een vriendin meegebracht uit Londen, toen ik mn zakje opendeed stond ik toch ff te gapen haha! Pretty huh. :D

  11. You make yellow look good!

  12. i do love yellows. :)

  13. Also that yellow and the grey really look wonderful with your skin tone.

  14. Some of your bold looks are fun and daring. But this one is totally wearable for multi-occasion. Yellow and grey is a true designer combination. I like it a lot.

    • Yeah exactly! I must admit i’m liking the lighter, more wearable looks at the moment but shhhht. :D That’s also why your POP Portfolio looked just great.

  15. I find yellow such a hard colour to work with ….I am absolutely in LOVE with this look. Stunning and not overpowering the look at all. Nice job :-)

  16. It looks great on you ! It’s cool to wear a gift of your mom – so “she ” is always with you :o)

  17. Ii love the antique look of your ring. I’m surprised how much I like this pop of yellow on you. It’s really gorgeous!

Speak your mind!

