Honeybee Gardens: Burlesque & Soft Kiss

I felt the need to share two lipsticks that get thrown into my bag pretty often. I bought these together with my Real Techniques brushes off of iHerb under the motto “what the hey” and “maybe that pink will be like Strawberry Milk by NYX”!
 
 
honeybee gardens soft kiss
 
 
It’s the Honeybee Gardens Truly Natural lipsticks in Burlesque and Soft Kiss, aren’t those names yummy?
 
 

Ingredients

 
 
The reason behind that “truly natural” signature is simple and honest, check the ingredients:
 
Canola oil, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, sesamum indicum (sesame) seed oil, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter) fruit, beeswax, theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, tocopherol (vitamin e), origanum vulgare (oregano) leaf extract, thymus vulgaris (thyme) extract, cinnamomum zeylanicum (cinnamon) bark extract, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) flower extract, hydrastis canadensis (golden seal) root extract. May Contain: titanium dioxide, iron oxides, ultramarine blue, carmine, manganese violet.
 
Pretty amazing huh? That’s because of their vision: if you want pigment.. but also a lip balm.. you shouldn’t have to compromise on any of the two.
 
 

Swatches

 

Soft Kiss

 
Slightly cool toned baby pink
 
 
honeybee gardens burlesque
 
honeybee gardens burlesque
 
honeybee gardens burlesque
 
honeybee gardens burlesque
 
honeybee gardens burlesque
 
Applied sheer, the full-on color gets quite pasty on my pale skin.
 
 

Burlesque

 
Sparkly ruby fuchsia, the sparkle doesn’t really show up on the lips
 
 
honeybee gardens soft kiss
 
honeybee gardens soft kiss
 
honeybee gardens soft kiss
 
honeybee gardens soft kiss
 
honeybee gardens soft kiss
 
honeybee gardens soft kiss
 
Full-on baby!
 
 

Any good?

 
 

Smell

 
These lippies have a distinct smell to them that I recognize from somewhere.. I think it’s the beeswax.
It actually had me thinking the texture was going to be really waxy too, weird how our brain links things!
 
In any case it’s not obnoxious, pretty subtle and natural.
 
 

Packaging

 
Nothing to remark, lipstick packaging! With a neat little bee at the front.
 
 
IMGP7040-tile
 
 
A fun touch is that you can twist the lippie out a teenie bit so you can see the shade you’re carrying around easily.
 
 

Colors and pigmentation

 
They come in a a lovely color selection for all skintones but the so-called digital swatches on the web are not accurate in the least!
Make sure to just check Google images for some real swatches if you want the true color.
 
Good thing is, you can order samples here on their site at $0.50 a pop!
 
There’s truly some lovely pigmentation in these, not as crazy as a Limecrime lipstick but comparable to a MAC lippie.
For the full color pay-off you need to work over the same spot a couple of times, but that’s for a reason: the texture!
 
 

Texture

 
The first swipe really gets in there because of the ever so slightly waxy texture, then after that it gets creamier and creamier.
This way the ridges in your lips get filled and the product stays in place nicely.
 
Something I need to mention is how buildable these lipsticks are, for a daily “yes yes, i’m alive!” effect I just really rub some Burlesque into my lips.
 
After taking these off my lips feel soft but for some reason it doesn’t feel like they’re getting that moisturized during.
Could be the slightly waxy texture.
 
 

Staying power

 
Nice for a lipstick, it’s not as amazing as a stain but.. it’s a lipstick for something!
Easy in use, low maintenance and stays put for hours without eating.
 
Doesn’t survive a meal.
 
 

Price

 
The price varies all over, $11.99 on the website but $9 on iHerb (where I got them) and $8 on amazon.
Health stores can charge crazy prices for these so the www is your best friend!
 
 

Buy again?

 
The price is pretty steep but yes I would.
 
There’s no junk ingredients, no animal testing, they come in flattering shades, and they stay put. Simple as that!
 
bye
 

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on July 4, 2013, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. sounds good. &nd what are the colors pretty

  2. Ziet er goed uit! Beetje prijzig, maar aan een goede lipstick geef ik dat graag!

  3. Ik moet het echt even zeggen, maar lady, je lacht zo ontzettend lief! Echt zo poppig, supercute. :p Mooie lipsticks, dat zeker. :) Bijenwax, dooooope. Lipsticks met wat structuur, daar houd ik ook van. :) Gewoon omdat je het dan voelt zitten, geeft zekerheid. En de colour.. oh my god. Both are gorgeous!

  4. When I saw the pink shade I was like: ooooh pretty! But then I remembered that “buildable” lipsticks in light colours usually are not cool on my lips -_-
    I llike my rather pigmented lips but light pinks and nudes are a no-go for me
    The idea of the samples for 0.50 is really cool though! At least then you know before you buy the full size what the colour looks like on the lips! :D
    The brand looks pretty neat, I like the packaging, though it reminded me of the catrice hip trip lip products, which I found rather boring… But I like the clear bit where you can see the colour of the lipstick ^^
    Only on the interwebs I guess?

    • Nop the pink looks weird on me too if I build it to full coverage, any chalky pinks anyway. I totally feel you on that. But I like this shade when it doesn’t cover up too much, you know? Then it’s not like I ate goopy Tipex.. D: OMG Tipex, good times. 90’s kids whudduuuup!! And yep on the interwebs, at least in Belgium. -_-‘

  5. I love the second one but they are both lovely.

    Quick question for you, I’m dressing up as Alice from Alice in Wonderland for a party this Sunday but I have no idea what make-up to do! Do I go innocent and girly? Slightly sexy, smokey eyes, red lips etc? Or a little crazy with my new blue eye shadows?!

    It’s a conundrum! Thanks in advance! And if you have any tips for how to make my make-up look good in photos that would be great too!

    ~ Amy

    • Heehee I agree, ruby over nude pink anyday. :) And both sound soo good. The contrast with your sweet dress and vampy make-up would be interesting. I’d maybe go for a mix? Loads of white liner under the eye for crazy dolly eyes like this maybe http://lifeofbun.com/2013/02/13/poison-lips-anti-valentine-look/

      But then i’d let a bit of red liquid droop under the eye instead of blue, and some blood splatters over the face + a vampy lip?

      That would be so cooool! I’m buzzing from all the inspiration you’re giving me right now. :)

    • Ah and for pictures, don’t go too light handed on the concealer and foundation, especially for costume make-up. Apply enough of it to cover up all unevenness.

      I’ve noticed that foundation never really shows up heavy on pictures, but it does show when dark circles are still under the eyes. And a foundation with a lot of SPF in it will probably make you look ghostly pale. Transluscent powder too, just a skin tone one works best it seems. :D

  6. Zien er goed uit!

  7. The burlesque is an eyecatcher. It looks great on you!

  8. Dit merk kende ik nog niet. Ziet er goed uit, leuke verpakking!

Speak your mind!

