SOS Hair Knots

I found a monster in my hair today.
It was mean, already ate half of my hair, and wanted to eat my entire head.
 
 
monster
 
 
Of course I snapped a picture for the blog before I had to run!
 
Here’s how I detangle those ultimate monster knots. ^_^
 

Gently spread it out

 
I take the knot by its two sides and gently pull outward so that it becomes more flat.
 
That gives the millions of teenie knots more room to detangle.
 

Shower time

 
I just wash my hair as normal, apply a conditioner, and hand – comb my hair under running water.
 
This helps SO much.. the hair has much more slip that way.
 
As soon as I get out of the shower I leave it be, without running water the hair gets really fragile.
 

Spread again

 
Then after blowdrying it, I clip the rest of my hair to the side and spread the knot out again!
 

Detangle spray

 
Aka 1 part conditioner mixed with 5 parts of water.. :)
 

Unravel the mystery of THE KNOT

 
Starting at the bottom, feel where the hair is bundled up and pull those little spots apart with my fingers.
Works so much softer than a comb.
 
Slowly move upwards and just comb through with a wide-tooth comb along the way!
 

Keep them at bay

 
To repel those knots you can sleep on satin sheets or pull your hair back into a loose tail using a soft hairband.
A braid works too!
 
Frizz and split ends are the number one culprit so you might need to pamper your hair!
 
On days I can’t get the knots out I just put it up in a massive bun and hope that covers it up. ;)
 
I’m actually thinking of going back to vegetable dyes just for the knots I get these days. >_<‘
My hair was so much more conditioned when I dyed it!
 
 
hair

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on June 16, 2013, in Box o' appearance, Care, Hair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. As you mentioned, using your fingers to tease it apart and then brushing gently working from the bottom up. Keeping your hair well conditioned seems to help too. I’ve just started using a leave-in hair moisturizer on the ends of my hair and it’s working wonders.

  2. Haha leuk geschreven! Ik heb er geen ‘last’ van met mijn dreadlocks hoewel… dat is natuurlijk een en al klitten en knopen! ;)

  3. This doesn’t happen if you cut all of your hair off! ;)

  4. Leuk geschreven. De tangle teezer is echt heel fijn.

  5. Mme Sophistique

    de dot is ook mijn partner in crime :D

  6. Split ends grab and tangle everything. Oddly, colored hair does seem to knot less.
    Try a natural boar bristle brush?
    Bend at waist and brushing soft strokes downward. Start from just above ends and gradually move up inch by inch to scalp one small section of strands at a time?

  7. :'( don’t untangle wet hair. It’s so much more damage-prone when it’s wet! I sleep with my hair in a loose bun to prevent tangles, but when it does happen I spend 45 mins pulling each hair out individually.. But then i’m a hair-crazy-person.

    • Oh no I don’t detangle it when it’s wet! Just under the shower with the running water. No pulling either, just let it do its thing and help it along. It moves great that way. :D I can’t keep it up for that long though cause the warm water makes me dizzy. So dry and do the rest. You just reminded me of highschool again, with all the girls checking their hair during class for half an hour, pulling off all the split ends. >_<

  8. haha leuk geschreven! ^^ ik gebruik de tangle teezer

  9. Sounds like a good way to get rid of them, but I ain’t got time for that every morning!!! So I usually sleep with a ponytail, if I don’t forget
    and my other method is wel… PULL IT APART, DIEEEE KNOTS DIEEEEEE!!! :D Works well for me XD and brushing like hell, brushie brushie brushie
    sometimes I’m even brushing my hair again on the train to school or home hahaha
    Summer will also be good for my hair, no more scarfs and coats :) only the beach is like “MUAHAHAHA SUFFER YOU LONG HAIRED HUMAN” I hate windy beaches :(

    Nope no coffee :) hello!

    • Hahaa jup wind is horrible! especially if your hair’s a little dry, which 110% definitely without a doubt WILL happen at the beach. >_<
      I detangled it like that for a while too, just attacking it, but now I have all these broken hairs because I had knots every single day.. bah. :( So no more! Does your hair ball up a lot or just occasionally?

    • Also, AIN’T NOBODY GOT TIME FOR THAT! Pfuw had to get that out. :D

  10. I just buzz my head almost bare with one of those electric shavers – no worries! Nice choice on the new theme. :)

    • Haha I was thinking about that when I wrote this post. Thought “John probably just uses a shaver. Hmpf men.” ;D Thank you for noticeing!! Figured something fresh for summer would feel better!

  11. Knot? That looked like June Buggie’s mouth!!!!

  12. I’ve bought a special brush by Babyliss to beat this monster – it’s not perfect – but better.

Speak your mind!

