Trend Inspiration: Pastel Eyeshadow

I thought it would be fun to feature some spring / summer 2013 trends on here and how I would incorporate them!
Fingers crossed it’ll be somewhat inspiring or interesting.. ^_^
 
Let’s kick off with pastel eyeshadows!
 
 
tumblr_mf94yimdOz1rne8y1o1_500
 
 
Heehee!
 
They’re not exactly flashy and can therefore be a little draining.
Aaand I feel spiking it up with darker colors can help – a lot!
 
A smoked out bottom lashline got my vote but just lining the top will work too and keep it looking fresh!
 
To avoid chalkiness a cream base for the shadow to grab onto can do wonders. Wonders!
 
pastel smokey eye
 
pastel smokey eye
 
pastel smokey eye
 
pastel smokey eye
 
pastel smokey eye
 
 

What’s that on your face?

 

Eyes

 
tutorial
 
1) White base
 
I used that Gosh eye pencil in white again, on the lid now, but wouldn’t recommend it! It did crease extremely quickly.
Creamy white alternative come to meee, I summon theeee!
 
2) Pastel lid
 
pastel make-up
 
The Coastal Scents 88 matte palette has some lovely pastels! Picked this green for the day. ^_^
 
3) Highlight and crease
 
pastel make-up
 
Wet n Wild Brulee under the brow and on the inner corner!
 
pastel make-up
 
Then a light Taupe from that same 88 matte palette lightly in the crease for some definition, the pastels sure aren’t going to give us that. :D
 
4) Liner!
 
Ahum, you don’t need to go as smokey as that.. tightlining the eye, or a nice thin line over the top lashline would look super duper nice too!
Fresh and elegant, just enough contrast to lift up the pastel.
 
I decided to go smokey because… no work means make-up playday! ;)
 
pastel make-up
 
Catrice gel liner all around!
 
pastel make-up
 
And then some black shadow to smoke out the lower lashline.
 
pastel make-up
 
Oh right! And mascara. :D
 
 

Face

 
I felt a natural face would fit best!
 
Just some foundation and:
 
pastel make-up
 
The Catrice cream blusher in Picked Cherry Blossoms!
 
 

Lips

 
Just a very light, simple lippie!
 
pastel make-up
 
But seriously, how cool does it look in the packaging!! >_<‘
 
pastel make-up
 
pastel make-up
 
It’s jelly and it glows.. as if it were nuclear.
Luckily it’s not, just the Catrice Ultimate Lip Glow!
 
 
bye!
 
 

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on June 12, 2013, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, FOTD and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’m so distracted by that lipstick! It looks incredible!
    I never used to like pastel shades, but I’m getting into them a lot more. I bought a pastel green shade to use for a tutorial, and I’ve worn it almost every day this week. I like a thin line of liquid liner to give it a bit of a pop.

  2. Love the look and that lipstick is SO cool! You have the best make-upy stuff. :)

  3. Love that green but I have really pale skin (I mean like serious white as a sheet, everyone asking if I’m alright pale!) so green makes me look quite washed out. What other pastel colours would you recommend?

    ~Amy

    • Ohhh really pale skin, so pretty when you get the colors right. (Do you also reflect light, like my Hippo does? ;D) Try a pastel orange or pink, that’ll look so soft and creamy on you! You could probably even pull off yellow. :o

      • I tried like a pale orange-y colour with bronze flecks, it’s goregous but I hadn’t dared use it and it looks great. Because I have hazel eyes the bronze and orange made them look all golden coloured! My mum asked me to show her how to do it cos she liked it so much!

        xxxx

      • Oehh I can imagine that. It’s crazy how shadows bring out your eye color right! If you have a blend going on like you do, browny golden, shadows can almost change their appearance. I wish you’d do a FOTD :’) I love love love seeing other people’s creations.

  4. Not like …LOVE! Definitely do more :-)

Speak your mind!

