DIY: gentle gommage

After a hard day of work or school what feels better than just washing / scrubbing all that stress right off your skin!
 
It literally is the first thing I do.
That and snack.
 
Agreed?
Then read on! :D
 

What’s a gommage?

 
A method of exfoliating that’s been around for centuries, a spa treatment of all times..
 
It consists of a thick paste you apply in a thin layer.
Wait until it sets and rub it!
It will roll / ball up on you and take with it the dead skin cells.
 
There’s tons of over-the-counter gommages available but also a million ways to make your own.
 
Of course it is more labour-intensive than just a scrub, so it has become less popular over the years, but oh how it leaves your skin soft as a peach.. ^_^
 
 

Ingredients

 
There’s only two ingredients to this that you WILL probably have in your cabinets.
Not one of those DIY’s with ingredients in cabinets from the other side of the world. >_<
 
However I did attempt to get an exotic feel here to reflect that this is a recipe of all ages and cultures!
 
I hope you’re feeling the beautiful kajal vibe! ;)
 
DIY gommage
 

Honey – an intense antioxidant, healer, moisturizer & antibacterial, antiseptic and antifungal agent

 
gommage
 

Sea salt – there’s a reason salt has been treasured across the globe for centuries..!

 
A natural detoxifier, a stress reducer for the Greeks and Romans, an antiseptic, and an active boost to your blood circulation.
 
IMGP6611b
 
 

How to

 
let’s get working!
 

1) Get you some honey

 
IMGP6615b
 

2) And about half the amount of salt

 
IMGP6653b
 
3) Mixy mixy
 
IMGP6672b
 

4) Apply a thin layer

 
IMGP6693b
 
IMGP6705b
 
 

5) Wait for it to set and rub rub rub!

I hope you can tell on the picture, the salt crystals will start to clump up.
 
IMGP6714b
 

6) Dampen a cloth and take of excess

 
Instead of being washed off thoroughly, a gommage just needs a damp cloth to rid your skin of the product & dead skin cells with it!
 

7) Moisturize / serum

 
Double up on the moisture with your own skincare if you like!
 

8) Happy, soft skin revealed!

 
It’s okay to pet yourself at this stage.
 

Where to use it

 
For me this is soft enough to use on my face as well as body, but if you have trouble with scrubs stay tuned for a non – scrubby version!
 
One that actually just 100% balls up and falls off.
Really cool. ;)

When not to use it

 
Burnt skin or broken capillaries?
 
A gommage may be too harsh for your tender skin.
 
Thankfully there’s gazillions of other awesome exfoliants like lemons!
 
 
peachd
 
 

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on May 25, 2013, in Box o' appearance, Masks, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Don’t know what the hell happened there as we most certainly didn’t make that comment! Hope we haven’t been hacked :(

  2. Aaah I’m too lazy for many of my best beauty things that I like. Or too busy. I have a sugar scrub I love – this sounds like a step up from that! Lovely – sea salt and honey. I will have to try it soon.

    • Ohhh I know exactly what you mean loll! But I have my moments, there’s these pampering weeks, and then i’ll just stick to the normal routine again. If that. -_-‘ Up and down and round we go! Do you recognize that by any chance? :P

      • Hmmm…I don’t think so. Thanks for sharing this simple lovely recipe!

      • Hey nathan they chose the arrtwok on the black tshirts!! With a few changes..they do not want the year 2011 at all on the tshirts and on the back where you have silent auction they want you to place that directly underneath hospice of limestone county. On the front left chest remove 2011.. If possible can you make those changes asap and shoot it to me by lunch time tomorrow? She wants to get it proofed so she can get me all the sizes- thanks nathan!;)

      • You can always tell an expert! Thanks for contributing.

      • Oct. 22, 2012WHAT: Chicken for Children fundraiser for the Dr. Bill Lewis Center for Children fetauring Nelson’s barbecued chicken dinnerWHEN: 11 a.m.-1 p.m., Oct. 31WHERE: Free delivery in Fort Wayne or pick up at Plymouth Congregational Church, 501 W.Berry St.TO ORDER: Call (260)750-8032 or email Rebecca Nix at . Orders will be taken until 500 dinners are sold. Dinners sell out fast so ORDER NOW!COST: $9/meal includes: bd Nelson’s chicken & Pit-Tatoes,™ green beans, bread/butter and a treat. **Great time-saver for Halloween night or enjoy for lunch at your place of work or home! All proceeds benefit the Dr. Bill Lewis Center for Children which provides forensic interviews of child victims of alleged sexual abuse.

  3. That is a great DIY! The ingredients are very similar to that of a Burt’s Bees scrub I used to have.

  4. I am planning on having a pamper session tonight, and this is totally on the agenda! Thanks for this!

  5. Yay! I love beauty-goodie DIY’s! Thanks :D I’ll try not to pet myself afterwards ;)

  6. Great idea , I will try it THANKS!!!

  7. Try not to pet yourself in public :D This stuff must be good!

  8. This looks really great! I love natural scrubs for my body and face, I can’t wait to try this. The normal one I usually do for my face is an Adzuki bean scrub. Have you tried that before? You may love it too! :-) Have a good weekend

Speak your mind!

