New brush cleaning routine: inspired by the Sigma glove

Completely inspired by the (in)famous Sigma oven mitt – I mean cleaning glove. ;D
 
cleaning glove
 
I present to you my latest technique for washing brushes!
 
Putting some shampoo in my hand and swirling the brush in it worked just fine.
However the added structure to the surface does seem to make the cleaning – hassle a ton faster.
 
BUT I didn’t want to spend $40 on the mitt, so here’s my fast budget way of deep cleansing them!
 
 
What we’ll need:

 
 
clean brushes
 
 
I use the Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil shampoo, it’s soft enough but does the trick.
 
 
clean brushes
 
 
Then just get some shampoo into the bowl
 
 
clean brushes
 
 
Add warm water and swirl it all around!! ^_^
 
 
clean brushes
 
 
Add the cloth to the bowl
 
 
clean brushes
 
 
Work your brush into the cloth
 
 
clean brushes
 
 
Remove and stare at dirt
 
 
clean brushes
 
 
Rinse!
 
 
clean brushes
 
 
Squeeze the bristles into place and air dry
Aaaaand:
 
 
clean brushes
 
 
Cleaning my brushes happens a LOT faster this way, for all of those brushes I needed 3 little cups of soapy water!
 
In case you’re interested in seeing exactly which life forms tend to inhabit your brushes, check out my post.
 
Have you tried the mitt?
 
I loved Goss’ video on it:
 

 
He’s so amused by it haha. :’)
 

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on March 30, 2013, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I clean my brushes using the same technique, but I fail at doing it regularly. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Hmmm, that’s a good tip! I usually just use my hands, but yeah, this technique could be a lot faster. I need to clean my brushes tomorrow, I am gonna give your technique a go!

  3. You’ve been tagged! :) Hope you’ll join in! :)http://wearyourvitamins.com/2013/03/30/confesions-of-a-shopaholic/

  4. I can’t wait to watch that video. :) I’ll have to try a cloth. I always swirl them in my hand, so I’d like to try something that’s faster.

  5. Oops, this reminds me the last time I cleaned my brushes is over two weeks ago. Eeks! *will do tomorrow… I think Goss’ video is amazing, you can really tell he liked it a lot ;) but honestly, 40$ is a lot of money for a silicone oven mitt. I’m glad you didn’t buy it!

    • Haha have fun ;D $40 is a ton of money I agree.. I love how honest Wayne is. On one hand he has a brush set worth $500, but on the other hand he says you might as well wash them with just.. normal soap!

  6. hmm looks good, I need a quick and cheap way to clean my brushes, I don’t really have many, so I actually also need something that’s dry really quickly too :p I also thought of the alcohol Wayne uses, but I don’t know… :p
    I actually just hate cleaning my brushes

    • Hehe :D same, but brush cleanser works insanely fast too. And it’s less harsh on the bristles compared to alcohol, there’s a lower percentage in it. It’s less effective though.. but keeps the pimples at bay haha!

      • I don’t have brush cleanser (besides it’s expensive) but my mild shampoo is finished, so I don’t know what I’m going to use next :p maybe I’ll try some shower gel with olive oil? haha

Speak your mind!

