What’s your favorite thing about veggie food?

I’ll start, for me it’s…
 
These!
 
peanuts
 
Processed into this:
 
peanut
 
Hmmm… a sandwich with peanut butter and some sugar on it…
 
Or this:
 
peanut sauce
 

The mistress of cute (also known as Ashley) gave me an award this week, and when reading her post my eagle (read: tasty food) eye sort of zoomed in on “peanut” straight away..
Apparently her signature dish is peanut sauce.
Which is funny because I wanted to dedicate an entire post to peanut sauce this week as well.
To which she responded that she tweeted about it this week too even! Hehe. :D
 
When I travel to Holland for the weekend I make sure to bring back a bunch of little jars in my suitcase.
Here in Belgium it’s hard to find..
But when I can’t travel there, I make it myself!
 
It’s really easy:
 

  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 6 tbsp of peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp of sugar
  • 1 tbsp sambal
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • water

 
Of course you can add to that what you like!
A bit of lemon juice in it is tasty as well, or some ginger..
 
But then when you have those ingredients, just heat them up in a little pot and keep stirring until they’re nicely mixed!
 
Dooone!
Sometimes i’ll make mine really spicy.. Hmmm….
 
You know what I love most about it?
The fact that it instantly gives a kick to any meal because it’s so savory, spicy and sweet at the same time.
 
In my humble opinion it’s one of the best things on the planet.
 
 
So… now i’m curious…
Even if you’re not a vegetarian, what’s your favorite veggie dish / side dish / dessert?
 

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on March 3, 2013, in Box o' food, Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. tutankhamon61

    It looks delicious :)

  2. And I DO love peanut butter. With honey though, not sugar.

  3. chips and salsa? no, vegetable lasagna! (carrots, broccoli, green and yellow squash and zucchini all in marinara sauce, parmesan cheese, mozzarella and lasagna noodles). Maybe that. Or tea.

    • All of these answers are making me hungryyyyy -_-‘ I just saw a recipe for easy salsa this week, it looked so yummy.. i’ve never tried salsa before!! And Ania told me about the honey on top as well, imma try that instead of sugar.

  4. Oh to find someone who loves peanut butter as much as I do! Well of course you knew that – why else would a grown woman with no kids at home call her blog “pbenjay”? And I do make many snacks and lunches involving peanut butter however, I do love asparagus and tomatoes (even though I know they are not officially a veggie)

  5. I really hate peanut butter for some reason :) Instead, I prefer hazelnut or almond butter with some honey – yuuum. My favourite veggie food… oh, I’d have to write a book to mention everything but I really love mashed potatoes. And stewed cabbage. And pancakes. And vegetarian homemade pizza. And wholegrain pasta with tomato sauce and parmigiano cheese. And baked potatoes. And roasted aubergines. And roasted mushrooms with onions mmm. And… well, I have to stop, or else this comment will never be over :)

    • Hmmm they have those at Albert Heijn here in Holland, but again.. in Belgium not so much. Hazelnut butter is goood…. i’ll try some with honey. And Parmigiano cheese is soooo gooood.. sooo saltyy!!!!
      I take it you like munching? Hehe me too. :D

  6. Well I usually eat this as a side dish, but I got an amazing Korean salad (well it’s from the Korean wife of my boyfriend’s uncle)
    It’s with salad, cucumber, green apples, sour cream, mayonaise, a bit of lemon juice and salted cashew nuts (roasted)
    I think that’s all, not 100% sure XD but I got the recipe recently :D
    Oh the deliciousness :D
    I love salads with nuts and/or seeds :D

    • Sounds good, i’ll try to make that. Doesn’t seem tooo hard… then again i’m no kitchen princess lol. Koreans are born with it I think! xD Also, they have soooo many vegetarian side dishes!!! O_O there’s a lot of Asian cooking channels i’m subscribed to on Youtube.
      And salads with nuts or seeds are the booomb, and with apples as well.

      • And cucumbers are also yummy! :D
        I’m not a vegetarian, but I like vegetarian food :D especially salads, I like it better without any meat in my salad (I really wanted to try a salad with apples when I was doing my internship but they had bacon, and I don’t like bacon that much :p )
        vegetarian pastas are also delicious!

      • So much food that’s good hahah :D is there a type of veggie you don’t like?

    • Urgh I hate spinach (but I love it mixed with potatoes XD and raw, they’re also fine, but with white sauce, yuk)
      And mushrooms ewwwwwwwwwwww x_x
      Asparagus, depending on the way it’s cooked (I like the ones in wagamama, but I don’t like it how my father makes them… but he always makes white ones as well, maybe I just don’t like the white ones, but I like the green ones)

      I don’t think I’m too picky about my veggies :D but those are the first that came in mind, maybe there are a few others, but I can’t think of anything else now :D a lot of times, it depends on how it’s cooked, only mushrooms are a no-go, the structure ewwww :D

      I’m picky with seafood though… it looks scary (gamba’s, octopusses or oysters or something ehhhhh *hides* )

      So, what about your no-go food list? haha :p

  7. I loooove peanut butter too!!

  8. Love roasted, salted peanuts or raw out of the shell. Sadly, any other way just doesn’t do it for me – too sweet :(

    • Nom nom salted peantuts are good too.. and you must not have a sweet tooth, at all! I often want to eat something salty after I ate something sweet, even though I enjoyed the sweet, do you have that too? :P

  9. I’m a fan of ratatouille and I love celery stalks with mayonnaise dip (but I hate the kalories of the mayo)

    • Ohh ratatouille is good.. I wish I could make it as good as my grandma does. And in Holland there’s yogonnaise, I don’t know if you have that as well? It’s really good and much lighter in the calorie-department :D

Speak your mind!

