OCC Lip Tar – gloss

Besides mixing my lip tars, I enjoy making customized lip glosses with them as well!
 
gloss
 
 

Seriously.. they cost $16 a pop, but i’ve had mine for about two or three years now and I still have all my tubes.
Not one is empty!
 
The proof? I still have the old tubes with a thick applicator and they look SERIOUSLY roughed up.
 
I apologize in advance for the flash pictures, but the lighting is driving me mad around heere! :(
 
What we’ll need:

  • Clear gloss
  • A lip tar (or the Sleek pout paints)
  • Optional: cosmetic grade glitter (non toxic)
  • Optional: cosmetic pigment (also non toxic)

 
So I got myself a random lipgloss:
 
occ lip tar
 
Rounded up some lip tars:
 
occ lip tar
 
Hey I warned you!
They got a looot of loving!
 
Then some glitters and a Gosh pigment:
 
occ lip tar
 
I started off by adding some Grandma lip tar to my gloss with a spatula (you can use a knife too, just let the product drip from the tip)
 
The stopper might make the tar unable to pass through, if that’s the case just push it in gently with the gloss applicator!
 
occ lip tar
 
Add as much lip tar as you like! You can make it very sheer, or really opaque.
I chose pretty opaque. ^_^
 
This is what I got:
 
occ lip tar
 
Then I added some glitter!
 
occ lip tar
 
But I wasn’t satisfied with the big chunks of glitter so I added some gold pigment from Gosh as well!
 
occ lip tar
 
The Gosh pigment added a pretty sparkle but also made my gloss more coral than pink:
 
2b gloss
 
Which is why I finished up with some red added to it and gooot..
 
occ lip tar
 
 
*drumroll* :D
 
 
occ lip tar
 
2b gloss
 
I’m pretty pleased with the way it turned out, i’d wear this!
 

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on January 11, 2013, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. This is so cool! How fun to customize your own color! I love it too. I don’t think I’ll ever use up my occ lip tars.

  2. Hey!! Happy new year!! I love reading your blog and have nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. Please check my blog for the details… http://hearingwiththeeye.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/gratitude/

  3. You’re adorable! Totally irrelevant tho. Haha!

  4. Oooh pretty! Plus, now you’ve got a colour that’s totally unique.

  5. So happy to see your post pop up in my reader! You are truly unique and have a fresh take on things. I cannot wait to try these – when I have more beauty budget money I will buy all the things my friends online review! haha.

  6. I thought I was pretty versed in make-up ‘things’ but I have to admit, I have never heard of a ‘lip tar’. What exactly is it? Just like super thick gloss?

    Anyway, I love this idea! I am quite particular about my colors, so if I could just make it myself, it would make so much more sense. Yours looks wonderful! Beautiful as always :)

    • Lip tars are in their own category i’d say, completely different from other lip products. :P They’re inSANEly pigmented, you need the teeniest amount, and apply like a lipgloss but dry demi-matte. The lasting power is way longer than that of lipsticks and glosses, but not as long as a stain either though. However they’re not drying to the lips like a stain could be. And a lot more pigmented as well.
      Here’s the available shades:
      http://www.occmakeup.com/lips.html
      Some can’t be worn on their own but most of them do :)
      Pooh sorry for the long text. :D

  7. What a great idea! And a nice colour too!
    I am glad I discovered your blog. I use only cruelty free products and it’s so nice to find like minded people :-D

    • Hey! Thanks for subscribing, I love it too :D it’s hard to find like minded people on an everyday basis, sadly enough they don’t walk around with a leaping bunny logo on their head. Maybe they should. Maybe we should! Lol!

  1. Pingback: FOTD: Raspberry Truffles « lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

