The Hobbit: Smaug

What to do when Hippo is gone for the weekend?
Play around with make up!
The whole sink is covered in glitter right now… hehe >:)
 
This is the second look for my Hobbit series, inspired on key elements out of Tolkien’s stories that I really adore.
 
 
Today, the lonely mountain was my inspiration.
More specifically the town of Dale and the dragon Smaug that took control of it.
 
smaug
 

Pretty sure that’s not it..
 
Dragon
 
There we go!
 
 
The lonely mountain was once home to the Longbeards, a prosperous clan of dwarves founded by Durin.
Lead by Thrór, they acquired great wealth.
Not only the Arkenstone but immense piles of gold and gems as well!
 
I read all reptiles are attracted to shiny objects for some reason.
Well in the case of Smaug that seems to be true!
The treasure caught his attention, and he flew in to make it his own.
And then nap on it for years.
(ahh who’s a cute dragon..)
 
dragon
 
With Smaug now guarding the treasures that once belonged to the Longbeards, Bilbo, Gandalf, Thorin (Thór’s grandson),and 12 other dwarves set out to reclaim their long forgotten gold.
There’s the beginning of the Hobbit for ya!
 
Now here’s what I came up with:
 
 
Dragon
 
hobbit smaug
 
Dragon lady
 
Dragon lady
 
Dragon lady
 
Now you see why my sink was full of glitter? :D
 
 

Eyes

 
1) Kryolan aquacolor in Black (071) on my lid
 
2) Black shadow from 88 matte palette on my lid and in my crease
 
3) The darkest yellow from Inglot 103 R on my browbone
 
4) Red shadow from the 88 shimmer palette blended almost up to my brow
 
88 shimmer
 
5) Light gold from the same palette on my browbone and inner corner
 

 
6) Kryolan red glitter on the middle of my lid
 
7) Kryolan aquacolor in Yellow (509) as winged liner
 
8) Brassy gold from the 88 shimmer palette on top of that
 
88 shimmer
 
9) Catrice gel liner in 010 Black Jack with Jack Black, all around my eyes and winged out as well.
 
10) Some more black shadow to smoke that bottom lashline
 
11) Rhinestones!
 
12) Kryolan red glitter on my eyebrows, applied with Kryolan lash glue
 
 

Face

 
1) MUFE  HD foundation
 
2) DA concealer pen
 
3) 2B concealer stick
 
4) Peach blusher (8) from my Zoeva Fresh Pink palette
 
8
 
5) That same pale gold shade from my 88 shimmer palette went on my cheekbones as well
 
 

Lips

 
Homeblend of OCC lip tars, tell me if you’re interested in how I made that one!
 
 
Aaaand that’s it!!
I hope you like this dragonesque look, hehe. :D
This was my first time trying glittery brows.
 
 

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on January 5, 2013, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, FOTD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Hmmm… well… if I saw you at night, I’d be scared :D that ring (or nail) or something black and shiny looks sssscary!!!!

  2. Sinful Stilettos - Avril Donohue

    LOVE the brows, amazing!! You look gorgeous! Avril xXx

  3. So stunning! I think you did an amazing job using Smaug as your inspiration!

  4. This actually suits you!

  5. What a cool eye look! Very nice tutorial! :)

  6. That’s just great! What a very cool idea!!!

  7. Oh my gosh! There are no words to describe how awesome this is!

  8. You kind of remind me of Melanie from The Voice.

  9. Incredible! The makeup augments your eyes so much, they seem to glow, I love it!!

Speak your mind!

