The Hobbit: Radagast the Brown

There are some mixed feelings swirling inside of me right now! I saw the Hobbit today and GAH it was amazing!
I’m feeling all dreamy, but sad at the same time because I can’t wait for the next one to come out!!
Thankfully it shouldn’t take that long, they’ve it planned for 2013.
 
As sort of a creative outlet, I thought i’d play around and come up with looks for some key characters and elements out of the Tolkien trilogies that really spoke to me.
 
First off, had to be Radagast the Brown!
One of five Istari or wizards of Middle Earth, and “master of shapes and changes of hue”.
 
He was originally named Aiwendil, meaning bird-friend!
 
Deemed completely insane and inadequate by some fellow wizards, he spends his time tending to and conversing with the fauna and flora in Middle Earth.
In fact, he gets along with animals and plants much better than he does with dwarves, elves or anyone else.
 
He is master of not only supreme magic, but herbology as well, creating powerful poisons and medicins alike!
 
I was mostly inspired by his home “Rhosgobel”.
Made up of branches and moss and stocked with potions and herbs, it completely embodies his character!
 

home

Here he is tending to a cursed hedgehog in his house


 

radagast

And.. smoking some herbs with Gandalf


 
 
So for my colorscheme, I thought i’d go for a vibrant green surrounded by both cool and warm browns to mimic the forest!
The rest of my face I kept very light, because his character is so soft and gentle.
 
 
radagast

radagast
 

Eyes

 

  • First off I applied the shade GR. 42 from the Kryolan Aqua Color palette in FP to my lid as a base:

 

Kryolan

(This stuff really is water resistant!)


 

  • Then I grabbed my Coastal Scents 88 shimmer palette:

 

the hobbit

I mixed the two green shades, and applied those on top of my Aquacolor.
Then I got some of the grey-brown on a crease brush and applied that on my outer corner, blending up.


 

  • Under my browbone I added a random matte beige shade, and on the inner corner I applied a shimmery highlight from that 88 palette again.
  • I then really winged out my black Essence liquid liner.
  • On top of that liner, I packed 3 shades of glitter:

 

hobbit

From inner to outer I applied 1 (a brassy gold), 2 (a warm red brown), and 3 (black) on the outer coner.


 

  • Number 4 went on my lower lashline for an added touch of light, that’s a pale gold.
  • To finish off I added some Physician’s Formula Organic Wear Mascara.

 

Face

Catrice Infinite Matte foundation in 010 Light Beige

DA concealer pen

2B concealer stick

Essence blush in Surfer Babe

Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips in Natural Glow
 

Lips

 
DA Shiny lipstick in 102
 
 
I wonder who to do next..
Do you have any favorite characters from Tolkien’s books?
Feel free to inspire me!! :D

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on December 15, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, FOTD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I just can’t wait to see this movie! I’m totally a fan of Tolkien’s books :)
    And your eye makeup is so gorgeous!

  2. Love the green shadow…. I have a Kryolan palette and I’m far too lazy to use it!! Do you find that the textures and consistency can be really hit and miss?

    • Um it depends on how much water I use I feel! When I first got it I used a fair amount of water on them and that made the shades look all patchy.. but when I make it a really nice gooey consistency almost, it works really well lol! :P also I like patting them on with my finger best.
      The gold and silver are much easier to work with though, such a big difference. So maybe it’s the finish?

      • You know I’ve never tried my finger, I really should! Now that it’s Xmas and it’s more acceptable to go eyeshadow crazy I think i’ll bust mine out and have a go. I never ever use it on clients, just because I always find it too temperamental.

        This style of eyeliner really suits you btw! Your eyes are just huge and gorgeous!

      • I can imagine that, a hit or miss situation would probably not be good if you’re a make up artist! Oh well I guess you’ll just have to postpone your wedding, imma try this again! >_<
        Thanks so much for the liner compliment!!

  3. you look cool like that Anouchka! Not seen this movie though.

Speak your mind!

