Make-up wipes, a waste of money

Wasn’t quite sure whether I should share this or not, it’s not that interesting I think!
However it has been a life saver (well, skin saver) for me this past weekend.

I hadn’t seen my Dutch family for ages and ages, and wanted to spend every minute with them.
As you can imagine, when it came around to bedtime I was too tired for a thorough cleanse.

Anyway the point is I didn’t feel like spending too much time in the bathroom.
My favorite way to get all of the dirt off of my face anyway then?

Wet wipes!
 

 
make up wipes
 
 
They’re a real all-rounder!

I use them on failed winged liner , eyeshadow fall out, but also to cleanse my face.
Of course the wipe doesn’t get right into the pores, that’s the main reason I don’t use this cleansing technique every day.
But some days I just really can’t be bothered!

Now they sell make up wipes at drugstores as well as high end stores.
Chanel even carried their own for a while, with the logo embossed on them..
 
 
make up wipes
 
 
(I bet you made your trash can’s day at least when throwing these away after one use!)

For a while I was convinced that there were some magical ingredients in these face wipes, that couldn’t be replaced!
EVER!
Not really.

Baby wipes actually work just as well at removing product. And they’re a lot less expensive.
 
 
make up wipes

wet wipes
 
 
Of course there’s the high quality ones that have vitamins and enzymes in them.
But to be honest, I use them for make up removal.. Not as moisturizer NOR as serum!
I use those afterwards if needed!

I don’t mind the oil in them either, the fact that I have greasy skin doesn’t mean I won’t cleanse or nourish with an oil.
As a matter of fact, I like giving my skin the moisture it needs with an oil-based cream when I don’t need my foundation to stay put all day.

However I make sure to get the ones for sensitive skin, and even then I still check the ingredients to make absolutely sure there’s no perfume in them.

The good thing is:
No one washes their face 5 times a day, but you do need a lot of those things for babies.
So one pack naturally comes with a bunch of those lovely, magical, lazy woman’s best friend – wipes.

Check your local drugstore! If they carry a home brand, there’s a good chance those will be cruelty free.
(However Google is still your best friend!)

You can make your own as well though, what the solution on these things boils down to is:

  • Water
  • Baby wash or shampoo
  • Baby oil (you can use olive, almond, anything you like)
  • Aloe vera gel

Add those together in a bottle, shake it up before use, and you have yourself a make up remover!

I hope this was interesting to at least one person, ha! :)

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on December 10, 2012, in Box o' appearance, General, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Hear hear! I also prefer to use baby wipes instead of makeup remover wipes. They work just as well and they’re so much cheaper. Also, they often come in larger packages, which means that they are better value for money. Great post!

  2. One thing I love about them is that, if they dry out, they are still great for cleansing. You just wet them again with water and they still work miracles. :) So, if you only needed to clean up a tiny mistake like a bad wing, you can just snip off the bits you’ve used and seal it away somewhere ready to be used again. :)

  3. Also, if that stuff wont come off with standard baby wipes, just add a little olive/vegetable oil on it and then wipe!

  4. baby wipes are also great at cleaning white trainers :D

  5. We use only Baby wipes…for removing mom’s war paint…and for me too – but not on my face ;o)

  6. Don’t they irritate your eyes? I always use my (drugstore) wipes really sparingly because they’re soooo expensive compared to cleanser so i’ll use like, one a month :-p This sounds great though!

    • The gentle ones without perfume don’t, for me personally at least. If they do, natural and organic ones with as little ingredients as possible might be best for you?
      I know what you mean! It’s silly how much they charge for them in comparison to an entire bottle of cleanser!

  7. The baby wipes are always good stuff for different uses. No surprise they can clean your face up in a pinch too. Glad your time with family was fun. :)

Speak your mind!

