Baking soda, the miracle in your cupboard!

On my last scrub review soooo many of you commented how much you love baking soda as an exfoliant!
It got me thinking, what else is there to this product?

Well what not is the better question apparenly!
I found a ton of uses for this multitasking powder, it’s insane!
 

 

Scrubbing face wash

Had to include this one right, thanks to you I found out just how great it is to add this to my cleanser.
Scrub and face wash in one!

As with that Hema scrub, the beads are round and soft enough to not do any harm, and there are a ton of them.
Just the way I like it!
 

Deodorant

No i’m not crazy, they do this at Lush even!

Take some baking soda, and add a nice essential oil to it.
Good in a pinch, and works miracles.

I’d suggest adding tea tree oil, baking soda is an antiseptic apparently, but tea tree is one of the strongest natural ones out there.
Double the works, and smells great.

Watch out with commercial deodorants, check the ingredients for anything aluminum related, they create plugs in your pores or make cells swell up to keep your from perspirating.
But it can clog the glands around it, which makes them swell up and hurt if you’re sensitive.

Especially you females out there that have trouble with aches in that area, try switching to a natural one!
The ones with natural salt work great for me.
 

Deodorizing

Much like the previous purpose, you can really put this anywhere, pretty much.
Suck it up with your vaccuum cleaner, put it in a closet, even shoes, anything.

It’ll absorb any bad smells!
 

Teeth

Brush your teeth with it after the toothpaste, or just add some on your toothpaste even.

It’s a known teeth whitener!
 

Bath

Add it to your bath to soak and soften your skin.
Aaand it cleans the drain, as an added plus.

Baking soda is a common ingredient in high end bathbombs too!
 

Bathbomb

While we’re on that subject, why not make your own!

All you need is:

  • 8 ounces baking soda
  • 4 ounces corn starch
  • 4 ounces citric acid
  • essential oil
  • witch hazel
  • molds
  • optional: colorant and dead sea salts

Just get all of the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl, and add as much oil and colorant as you like.

Once that’s set, add the witch hazel until you are satisfied with the consistency.
It should be just a little damp, so that when you take some in your hand and squeeze, the mixture sticks together.

Get it into the mold, whatever shape you like, and let it set for a couple of minutes.

Tap your newly created bathbomb out of the mold, let it sit for a couple of hours so it can dry, and done!!
 

Fresh flowers

Add a teaspoon to your vase to keep flowers fresh longer!
 

Spots

Just like adding tea tree oil to a spot to make it dry out, baking soda will do the same.
 

Rash

It works against rashes and insect bites! Apply some to relieve the itch.

On that same note, apply some to a jellyfish sting to draw out the venom.
 

Stomach

Granny recipe alert!

In case of heartburn, baking soda neutralises acitity in a mild manner.
Get a bit in some warm water and chug chug chug!
 

Sports preformance

Soda doping is quite the thing amongst long distance runners apparently.

> Insert *don’t try this at home* disclaimer here. <
 

Reader ideas

We’ve heard it’s a good antidote to a hangover but haven’t ever tried it! ~Animalcouriers
Well apart from the above, I also use it for cleaning! Um, mainly the kitchen sink haha! :D ~Organic Lassie
It makes an awesome dry shampoo. Just sprinkle on the roots of your hair, wait a moment and then brush out. ~Nessbow
I use it to clean cast iron ware. It’s great at removing rust as well. Use a stiff brush or a wire brush along with a good amount of baking soda. ~Little Sun Dog
 
Do you know of any more? Let me know!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on November 29, 2012, in Box o' thought, General, Random twirlings, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Apart from using it for cleaning surfaces, I also use it for cleaning the dishes (tea-stained cups and spoons) and for baking (I put a pinch of soda and pour some vinegar over it) – the biscuits and cakes are guaranteed to turn out great.

  2. I use it to clean cast iron ware. It’s great at removing rust as well. Use a stiff brush or a wire brush along with a good amount of baking soda.

  3. It makes an awesome dry shampoo. Just sprinkle on the roots of your hair, wait a moment and then brush out.

  4. Grand ideas! Well apart from the above, I also use it for cleaning! Um, mainly the kitchen sink haha! :D

    • Really, for cleaning? Something so necessary and yet I didn’t see that use anywhere online. That’s a great addition. :D Imma try it out for myself tomorrow I think.
      Another suggestion I got was in case of a hangover, but I don’t see that coming on any time soon so this one first, lol!

      • For a hangover? Ooh, that sounds kinda yuck lol! :D Yep, if your sinks dirty just spread it over the plug hole, sit back, wait, scrub a little = shiny & new! X

      • Ermagherd! It worked! :D I used to go in there with a harsh product for calcium deposits, and then scrub my hands with soap after because i’d be grossed out by the chemicals. Buuh. I hate making food afterwards, always afraid there’s still some on my hands. But this was great, I added some vinegar to the baking soda too and it worked like a charm, thanks!

  5. I mix it with shampoo to get rid of residue buildup in my hair. It works amazingly well, but I don’t know how it would affect color from a vegetable dye. Might strip it…

    • Oh nice one! Yeah it would probably strip a veggie dye, but I can imagine it being great at freshening up natural hair. Would you mind me adding that idea to my post, and saying it’s from you? I don’t have your name though! :)

  6. That’s great stuff! Is it on the Stock Exchange? :)

  7. We’ve heard it’s a good antidote to a hangover but haven’t every tried it!

Speak your mind!

