Simple smokey eye

All you bloggers that posted olive nails over the past few weeks, you looked gorgeous and i’ve now officially copied you.
I couldn’t take it anymore.

Found an Essence polish in 139 Walk on the wild side.
Not sure how i’m liking it just yet, let’s see if it actually stays on longer than a day.

I’ll keep you posted on that, but I wanted to share the eye look I created to go with it:

smokey eye

smokey eye

It’s.. a brown smokey eye.
Not much to it but it made me feel smoldery for sure  LOL!

Eyes

I applied Urban Decay’s glide on eyepencil in Zero all over the top and lower lashline, because it smudges so easily.

Then a shimmery shell in my inner corner.

A beige aaaaaall up in my crease, almost up to the browbone even.

Following up with bronze on my lid, up to right above the crease. (on the outer corner)

The darkest warm brown I kept for my upper & lower lashlines and outer V.
This dark color is the key I think, for hooded eyes. To not make them look droopy.
Keep it confined to the outer corner, and apply it in the same direction you would a liner, up and out.

To finish off, I added a matte bone color right underneath my eyebrows, a thin line of Essence liquid liner and Essence maximum definition mascara (love the wand!!).

My brows have the left top color of the Gosh eyebrow kit brushed through them.

Face

Then for blusher I chose a bright bright pink, and highlighter is Physicians Formula’s (I hate writing that name!) Shimmer Strips in Natural Glow.

Lips

On my lips there’s a sheer orange gloss.

To be honest, I don’t really care much for smokey eyes.
Had a lot of trouble with them in the past, having very deep set eyes the dark eyeshadows made them droop down when applied the wrong way.

However i’ve gotten better at it, and sometimes I just get that kick and want to smudge a liner all over my eye.

What do you think? Your thing or not so much?

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on November 25, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, FOTD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. So beautiful! You look gorgeous!

  2. I love this look on you. You look beautiful! I hope you went out this night!

  3. Oh my goodness – that is beautiful! I love your nails too!.

  4. I used to love a smokey eye, but as I’ve gotten older, it doesn’t create the same “smokey” illusion… and tends to look a bit heavy on me. I find a lot of times it depends on what I’m wearing. Sometimes I can still get by with it, wearing the right outfit. I really love this look on you though. You have beautiful eyes and skin tone. I also love your eyebrows.. nice and full. I have never understood fashioning eyebrows that are thin and sparse. Again, as we age, it all changes and those skinny eyebrows completely disappear! Mine were like yours when I was younger. Now I find myself filling them in with a touch of eye shadow to help them appear fuller.

    • I’m 100% sure a lot of people feel that way. Smokey eyes tend to look a little heavy in general I think. For easy eyeshapes it’s fine, but for the more tricky ones it’s not just a matter of slapping dark shadows on cause it will either look like you have a black eye, didn’t sleep, or have eyes that droop down!
      That’s why they still make me cringe, same for liner underneath the eye, with a smokey eye it works but on a daily basis I won’t even go there because it makes me look tired.
      But sometimes I get this uuurge… lol!
      That being said I think you could definitely pull off a smokey but maybe the color placement needs to be different now.
      I agree with the eyebrows as well, and thanks a bunch for the compliment but mine are big and extreeemely sparse, as I showed the world in my vitamin C video.. Ugh. I need a bunch of shadow for them to look like they do on the piucture. Then again let’s be glad we have that haha!

  5. I think it’s beautiful on you, makes your eyes really stand out and sparkle!

  6. I like a good smokey eye, but I find that they make me look a lot older than I am. If I’m tired, they really accentuate the bags under my eyes! However, when you do a grey or brown smokey eye, I think it’s a lot more flattering than flat black. This looks incredible on you.

    • Yeah exactly, I feel the same way, often I don’t have the guts. Even though people say “ohh when i don’t know what to do in the morning I just make a simple quick smokey eye!”, I could never do that LOL! And ty!

Speak your mind!

