How to make clashing colors work on your eyes

O hi!

It’s weekend here, and i’m just hanging around with Hippo at home.
Needless to say at one point of course I couldn’t stay away from my make up.

Christmas seems to have made it’s way into my head again, because I went for a foresty green and red on my eyes.
Two sides of the colorwheel? That’s curazeh!

88 palette

88 palette

Awkward up-the-nose shot, but it’s all good, we’re all friends here!

So two complementary colors on my eyes.. Hmm..
However it worked!

And it’ll tell you why!
 

  • Black eyeliner & mascara:
     
    The liner & mascara create a neutral frame around your eyes, which makes colors “fit into their own squares”.
    You can get away with so much more when adding some black around your eyes!
  •  

  • Black shadow in outer V:
     
    I packed the green on my lid first, then put some red onto my crease.
    The area between those two, I seperated by applying a black shadow on my outer corner and right into my crease.
    By seperating the green & red shadows the beholder will see them as two seperate colors, rather than two colors fighting for attention!
  •  

  • Smokey:
     
    This is related to the black shadow.
    When smoking out an eye look, all of a sudden colors work because they’re supposed to be messy and out of place.
    Lisa Eldridge demonstrates that to the extreme in this video:
     

 
Tell me if you’d like to see a fast video on how I did these shadows.

For those of you who celebrated Thanksgiving, I hope you had a great time!
And that you are able to get up for Black Friday.. Ha!

Sometimes I wish I lived in the USA!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on November 23, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, FOTD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. With all her makeup done, Lisa Eldridge reminds me of Rachel MacAdams…
    I absolutely loved the colours you chose, Bun! So fun. :)

  2. Beautiful color combination. Loved the EOTD :)

  3. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and are in the midst of a great Thanksgiving weekend!

  4. A stunning look… great with your hair… and eyes!

  5. ❤ These colours and yes it would be great to see a vid as I struggle to seperate colours when I do my eyes! ☺ X

  6. it looks nice with your new hair color and your eyebrows are awesome ;o)

Speak your mind!

