What red to choose

Okay SO, i’ve actually come to terms with my new haircolor.
I might even like it, but shhh..

It’s so easy to work with, and I don’t like sick trailer trash when my hair is wet.
Which is good.

Now i’ve been reading up online lately, educating myself on what color I *should* be going for, and here’s what I found.
Remember that they’re general guidelines, so do as you please!

It all depends on skintone:
The lighter you are, the more an orangy light shade will blend in, to not pale you out.
The darker you go with your hair, the paler you will appear.

  • Fair skin:

Warmer shades look great.
So red and orange undertones, no purple reds!

Strawberry blonde will work well, or in any case a lighter shade of red. That way the dye won’t overpower your complexion.

That being said, I personally love it when the red is a tad more vibrant.
If anything I think it contrasts with a fair complexion nicely!

Then again I love seeing pale skin..

Here’s Christina Hendricks with two shades of red:

ginger

The first is a very light orange, the second one is a midtone red that she technically shouldn’t be going for according to the rules, and makes her need a little more blusher.
However the second’s my fav!

Here’s another great lady, Alyson Hannigan demonstrating how dark hair makes you look paler:

ginger

Just consider whether you mind looking pale or not.

  • Medium skin

Then for medium skin the general rule is that you can go more vibrant and dark, don’t go too light.
The warm reds still work best, so again look for red or orange undertones, no purple.

Here’s Draw Barrymore:

strawberry blonde

On the first pic she’s wearing a strawberry blonde, which works but is really light for her medium skintone.

Then here’s Ashlee (whom I really don’t care for but oh well!):

ginger

Again her medium skin handles the vibrant red just awesome, ah what the heck let me just put this in bold: medium skins are lucky!

  • Darker skin

Cool-toned reds look great on darker skintones!
So away from the orange, and onto the violet and dark reds:

One name: Jessica Alba.

jessica alba

Nuff said.
Wham!

I’m off to cook dinner.
Let me know what you like best, first or last!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on November 21, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Hair, Red dyes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. “Chiming in” I love the second Christina & I have always loved Ashley’s red! I almost did, but I didn’t :-) cannot wait to see! :-)

  2. Here is a good link about some Henna experiences and why it would melt your hair: http://www.handfulofhenna.com/blog/henna-for-hair/51/can-i-bleach-henna-out-of-my-hair/
    I found the bit about climate effecting the feel of her hair super interesting too.

    • A-ha! Thanks a lot for the comment, i’ll investigate that some more.. the bleaching afterwards is what i’m scared of lol. Then again if you check the ingedients, and use a high quality one like you did on your friend, it should work fine right? Did she get it out easily afterwards actually or let it grow out?

  3. I like the second Christina Hendricks one too… i think you would look super lovely in it! I used to henna a friends hair for her, her hair never melted, and the color was so rich and incredible… and lasted for a really long time! I can’t remember the brand, but it was a good quality healthfood store brand that has been around forever. The application process was messy to say the least, and it really stains the skin if you are not careful… gloves and Vaseline are a must!

  4. Love both shades on Christina Hendricks. Going to try henna this summer! :)

  5. I loving the darker shades of reds!

  6. I ❤ both of Christina’s so beautiful! I’d ❤ to try red but the scallies have hijacked it in the UK :(

  7. The second, darker sets. Yum!

  8. I like the red of Jessica Alba – makes her eyes really pop.

  9. I like the red of Ashlee, looks better than the blonde – no idea why ;o)

Speak your mind!

