New hair! Fireland!

Jeepers creepers what did I do!

enchanted forest

Well, since it was about 2 am in the morning when I got fed up with my hair all of a sudden yesterday, and there weren’t any hairdressers available:
I made two ponytails in my hair, took the scissors and cut them.

Then I got myself some good ol’ bleach and coated my hair:

green hair

First stage

green hair

Second stage

Green hair

Third stage.
They say to stop bleaching right before you reach the color you’d like so I stopped here, after about 55 minutes.

green hair

Aand here’s what I ended up with afterwards.
The right side (first pic) had quite some light green blended through it still.

However i’ve seen hair that was still green being covered by red just perfectly, so I took a chance and dove right in with the Naturtint dye!

vuurland

Tell me that right shade doesn’t look like a gorgeous, lucious blue toned dark red.

Well it wasn’t.

vuurland

Well that was misleading..

I LURVE redheads, they’re stunning!
However on myself.. Meh. I can’t really get into it..

As for the dye itself, my unbiased review:

Smell

Awful!!
Like decaying bell peppers.

That smell stays with you until your first good wash.

Ingredients

Naturtint I-6.66 Colorant Ingredients: Peg-2 Oleamine. Aqua Purificata (Purified Water). Cocamide Dea. Alcohol Denat (Alcohol). Propylene Glycol. Oleic Acid. Ethanolamine. 4-Hydroxypropylamino-3-Nitrophenol. 4-Amino-2-Hydroxytoluene. Sodium Sulfite. Tetrasodium Edta. hydrolysed Vegetable Protein (Triticum Vulgare, Soy, Corn, Avena Sativa). Sodium Erythorbate. P-Aminophenol. P-Phenylenediamine. 4-Chlororesorcinol.

Formulation

Very runny, but it grabs onto the hair nicely.

On virgin or rigid hair you’d leave this on for about 40 minutes, on colored hair 20-30, that’s a whole lot less than the vegetable dyes I generally use from Manic Panic or Stargazer.
During this time it rushed into my hair like a flash!
So fast!

It spread throughout the hair nicely, and that way had colored every strand of hair evenly by the time I was ready for my rinse.
Even the green!

Staining

Nope, no staining!
My head is clear of  any pigments.

So far no transfer to my white scarf either!

Moisturizing

Very, my hair feels light and smooth like feathers!

The verdict

3

3 for now, i’ll be updating it as soon as I find out what the staying power is like!

Deducted one star for misleading packaging, how horrific!
And the smell is just awful, blergh.

fireland

To finish off I would like to add that even though I am now on the “accepted” side of the color wheel, I actually got pointed and laughed at the first day I wore this out.
Which was today. >_<

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on November 18, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Hair, Red dyes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. I always wanted to go ginger when I was in high school lol, but I don’t think it will suit me because you have to be really fair for that color. X)

  2. Sounds like you got a lot of positive feedback already but I totally like it! It suits your skintone and eyes really well and it’s such a pretty light-toned copper red!

    • Haha thanks for posting your feedback anyway! As I said to lonely dogs i’m getting used to it now, liking it even. It’s so easy to combine with natural make up looks, and even when i’m tired I look decent because of the warm tones. As opposed to the blue..

  3. I think red is a great color on you!

  4. The color looks great on you. I cut my hair short on Friday. The sound of the scissors made me cringe too.

  5. Hey it looks great. I like it!!!

  6. You always look beautiful whatEVER color you are!

  7. I really like it! I might prefer it to the color on the box. You look beautiful :-)

  8. I like it! It isn’t the colour on the box, but it still looks very pretty.

  9. If I wanted to change the color of my hair can I really take just basic bleach and bleach it out?

    • Yeah basically, however if it turns out brassy just add a toner afterwards, and then apply the color you like. But a dye like this actually lifts some color itself, so it didn’t need any toner.

      • No I just was thinking of changing the color but my hair dyed color is dark auburn and I can’t go lighter so I was hoping to do what you did, bleach it, then apply the color I want….will that work?

      • I’m guessing it’s a permanent dye you used?
        Then it might take two bleaching sessions, at least it did for me when I went from auburn to blue.

        The first time I bleached it I was left with a very dark yellow, which would’ve been be fine if I were going for a red, but I wanted navy blue.

        So to get rid of all of the orange, my hair was bleached one more time with a violet bleach. You can also use a normal bleach and violet toner afterwards for that if you like.

        Most of the pigment should be gone by then, so that you can put any color you want to on top.

        In any case, red tones are a pain in the butt to get rid of.

        Don’t go for a 50 volume developer though, 40 is crazy enough. I personally can’t stand a 40, and suggest going for a 30 volume if this is your first time bleaching.

        I hope that helped! :)

  10. Red looks great on you Anouchka, nice! Those poor little ponytails though, they look so lonely and afraid… ;)

  11. What an ordeal! Congrats on being a redhead!! I like it! :)

  12. I actually think the colour suits you :D

  1. Pingback: Hairmorphosis « lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

