I’ll tell you what that scrub is missing!

As I might’ve mentioned.. oh once or twice before.. I HAVE OILY SKIN.
To maintain that, and not get blackheads we oily skinned people need a good cleanse and a nice scrub.

I’ve browsed scrubs, high- and low end, and always come back to the same one.
Why?
It doesn’t suck.

Way too often brands label a product as a “scrub”, even when there’s only a couple of actual scrub grains in there!
You know the feeling?
Having high hopes, applying the scrub, working it in, and then noticing the fact that there’s only one little scrub particle being rolled around over your face?

How’s that supposed to get rid of any dead skin?

Which is why I keep coming back to the Hema  scrub cream:

scrub cream

Scrub

Don’t even mind the little red particles, look at all the see-through ones!

A bunch right?

I’m actually not the only one around here that grabs for this low-cost drugstore cruelty free scrub again and again.
Tons of people vow to it!

Ingredients

Scrub creme

Packaging

A nice hygienic tube!

Smell

Very fresh and light, like my granny’s night cream actually.
In a good way.

Texture

Creamy, it doesn’t run, with a ton of scrub particles in it.
But they aren’t scratchy though, they just do the trick of removing the top dead skincells.

I have a friend over at Brown eyed blondie with sensitive skin and she loves this stuff as well, so it’s gentle enough.

The only other scrub that was heavy duty enough for me, was a Clinique one.
However this one is cruelty free and costs a million times less, so I know which one i’ll go for!

This one can be found at Hema, €2.25 for 100 ml.
(Their website is fun by the way, just sit back and wait for the magic to happen.)

A homemade scrub works great as well, you can put as much sugar in it as you desire to get that great consistency, and then it’s natural even!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on November 9, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 57 Comments.

  1. s fees in cases where a successful and clear victory has been gained
    by the claimant. The victim of the wrongful termination complaint may receive
    several privileges such as back pay, reinstatement, or promotion for the damages of the wrongful termination. This
    is not an overstatement, but a simple uncomplicated.

  2. I think everything wrote was actually very reasonable.
    However, what about this? what if you added a little content?
    I ain’t suggesting your information isn’t solid., but suppose you added something that
    grabbed people’s attention? I mean Ill tell you what that
    scrub is missing! | lifeofbun is kinda vanilla. You could
    look at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create post titles to get people to open the links.
    You might add a related video or a related picture or two to grab readers
    interested about what you’ve written. In my opinion, it would bring your posts a little livelier.

  3. I usually do not leave a comment, but I looked at a great deal of remarks here Ill tell you
    what that scrub is missing! | lifeofbun. I do have
    a couple of questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be simply me or do some of these responses look like they are coming from brain dead individuals? :-P And, if you are writing on additional online social sites, I’d like to follow you.

    Could you list of the complete urls of all your social pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  4. Have to laugh at one little scrub rolling around your skin, lol!

  5. I love the scrub from Rituals, Body shop and the ones from ‘Action’. The from the Action store is really, really rough. But I usually end up with the cheaper ones from the Action and Bodyfruit from Kruidvat. Haha.

  6. get a clairsonic

  7. I know exactly what you mean alot of them just don’t have the oommph to get the soft skin feel you were hoping for. Here’s one that never fails me its called “breakfast scrub” by the brand “soap and glory” you’re meant to use it on your body but its amazing on your face!!

  8. Have you tried Apricot Scrub? It has a BUNCH of little scrubby beads in it, & smells great!
    Its also under 5 dollars.

    I use that & than noxzema & have clean; clear skin without having to spend over 10 dollars

  9. do you know f this scrub is available for sale in the U.S.? i cant find a website anywhere and would LOVE to try it. I have terribly oily skin and cant seem to find a good scrub

  10. I have the exact same skin and I use this nice big jar of organic body scrub from treehut, it thick and has tons of particles, lasts a long time and does a great job. Comes I many scents for men and women I love it! It lasts soo Lon too

  11. The best scrub you will ever need is Ocean Salt from LUSH Cosmetics. Not only is it natural and you can actually pronounce the ingredients, it works. It works so well that your skin never gets used to it and you will feel like your washing for the first time every time. Coarse and fine sea salt slough away dead skin while lemon-vodka infusions brighten up skin tone and tighten pores. Granted I do work for LUSH and I may sound a little bias but this is the only scrub that has worked for me and its the company’s best seller. Give it a try, I beat you’ll forget all about black heads.

    • Woa thanks for your in-depth comment! :) I do love Lush for their honest products. Even though I hate the stores but..! That could just be in Belgium ahah. >_< that scrub is great for the body I feel, love it! It's no wonder it's a best seller.

  12. I haven’t seen you for a long time. You look like you’re in good shape.

  13. st. ives scrub works pretty well.

  14. I assume you’re talking about Clinique’s Exfoliating Scrub or 7 Day Scrub. I just wanted to mention that Clinique doesn’t test on animals, so it is cruelty free. The only thing I want to stress is that you want to make sure whatever scrub you use on your face has spherical beads. Never ever ever use an apricot scrub (or anything of that sort) on your face, as it actually scratches the skin’s surface. Also I notice in the list of ingredients is “parfum”. Any sort of fragrance can be a huge irritant to skin, for any skin type. If it doesn’t bother you, great, but for people with seriously sensitive skin it can be more of a hindrance, and all of Clinique’s products are 100% fragrance free.

    • Hey Megan! That’s true, which is why I make a point of putting the ingredients out there. There’s a bunch of people out there that are allergic to frangrances sadly enough.. But luckily in this world there’s tons and tons of alternatives out there (including natural ones) which I will hopefully get to as well if they’re any good!

      However for me Clinique is not one of them.. their products have been tested. Not by them, but third party testing on their ingredients. If not in America, then in China because they also sell over there, and sadly enough testing is still a requirement China. Besides that they’re owned by Estée Lauder, one of the biggest animal testing companies on this globe.

  15. Baking soda is a GREAT exfoliant. It does a great job of cleaning your skin, you can really feel the grit. Plus! it’s all natural!! much much much better for you

  16. Just wanted to add that my favorite all natural scrub is baking soda.. Add a little to any face wash and it is the perfect amount of scrub!! try it!

  17. The st Ives apricot scrub is incredibly bad for your skin. While most scrubs and exfoliants use beads and other round exfoliants, this one uses smashed pieces of apricot seeds/pits,so while it is exfoliating it is also scratching the surface of your skin. Just a heads up

  18. St. Ives Apricot Scrub I always found to be amazing!

  19. Just mix baking soda with honey or coconut oil – best scrub ever.

  20. use lush. its CRUETLY FREE. check out rub rub rub or ocean salt

    • Oh you have great taste! :D I adore lush too, although their sales tactics not so much LOL. That scrub is a little harsh for my face though, but for the body it’s insane. Really nice.

  21. just make your own – mix fine sea salt and baking soda together (play with the ratio) and add enough water to make a paste. it’ll cost you about 2 cents per wash and no chemicals.

  22. My favorite scrub is also Clinique, as used to be your favorite too. I would love to find a cheaper one if it is as good. Does any place in America sell it? About sugar scrubs — tired them too, and they are sticky especially around the hairline, and even through you can rinse it all off, I don’t like it. Coffee grounds and oatmeal can clog up the drain pipes. Olay doesn’t have many little scrubbies in it, so I have to stick with Clinique. I wish that was an US web-site, as I don’t have pay pal and can’t figure out a way to buy things out of the States. Anyway, thanks for the information.

  23. Thank you for visiting and liking my posts.
    I have this scrub too and it’s good, just a little bit oily and it let a thick layer of product on the skin that I don’t like in general but it’s very thin so this is a good product.

  24. don’t know if I know this brand – but I do love scrubs. My favorite scrubs at the moment are ones that contain enzymes, enzyme this enzyme that, just a bit of an obsession at the moment.

  25. mothernaturessnuggery

    I often think the less ingredients in a product & the more decent a price, the better the product! I’ve pretty much given up buying scrubs to be honest though, I just prefer to make my own for the costings! Out of all of the ingredients, I think almond powder / blended oats works best on the face (this is just my own opinion / face though – other’s might feel differently!) :)

  26. I love it when I find a good product like that AND I can actually afford it! :)

  1. Pingback: 2012 stats « lifeofbun

  2. Pingback: Baking soda, the miracle in your cupboard! « lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

