Pumpkins à la granny!

Now we don’t carve pumpkins here in Belgium (sadly enough) but we do eat them!

A hearty pumpkin soup for me just embodies winter, however I can’t stand it being bland!
When ordering pumpkin soup in a restaurant, I sometimes get this.. limpy soup. Yuk!

Slap in the face!

Pumpkins are sort of sweet, and I love having opposites in food.
Adding some salt and spice to them just balances everything out so nicely.

We all get shaped by our environment right, so here’s the soup that shaped me:

Granny lifeofbun’s recipe for pun’kin soup!

  • 1 pumpkin in cubes
  • 1 red pepper
  • 3 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • Salt & pepper
  • 800 ml stock (chicken/vegetable for the vegeterians)
  • 1 cup crème fraîche (to pull up the taste of the pumpkin, make it more fresh)
  • optional: some coconut milk… that just makes it even better

Kay now get your oil into a pot, and chuck in the  pepper, garlic, onion and curry powder.
Let that glaze up, not bake!
That’s the one things she tells me every single time:
“Do not bake your onion! No seriously!”

Then after about 2 minutes add your pumpkin, and let that simmer for another 2 minutes.

Then add the stock, and let it boil very softly for 15 mins.

Blend your soup and add coconut milk, salt and pepper to taste.

Add some crème to every plate,
aand done!

I sure hope you try it.
Send some cosmic lovin’ this way if you like it!

Oh on a sidenote:

lifeofbun

This fellar is making munchkin soup.
No actually Nutty is carving them for a contest!
Image courtesy of Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on October 24, 2012, in Box o' food, Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. mothernaturessnuggery

    This looks delicious! I have to say though that pumpkins, butternut-squash & turnips are my least favourite veggies to chop up! :) I’m carving a pumpkin tomorrow for our daughter (that should be interesting with regards to the final presentation!) but I’m thinking to use the insides for something else, this has given me inspiration! Thank you! Ooh, also joined your youtube channel :) My youtube went to pot in when google took it over, this is me only getting around to redoing it all! Cheers :)

    • Wauw that sucks.. I hope your vids weren’t lost, I know how much work they are now. oO thanks a bunch for joining my channel though, I really appreciate it. :) and that’s true haha, that’s the main reason I don’t really eat melons even, although I do love them. And the stickiness, lazy humins.
      Let me know what concoction you came up with!

  2. Well, I DO carve pumpkins ànd make pumpkinsoup! Yummmmiiieeeee!! (My birthday is on Halloween so that might have something to do with my pumpkin-madness…)

  3. Never heard of pumpkin soup, asked my wife just now. She’s heard of it. I’d try it. No pumpkin carving? I guess it’s an American thing eh?

  4. Sounds so yummy!! Nutty is soooo adorable!

  5. Mmmm, that does sound good. We love that photo of Nutty on his pumpkins!

Speak your mind!

