Pixi Lip Booster Zuzana

Still have some lippies to review before my giveaway ends on Thursday!

The pixi lip booster in Zuzana is up now! Sadly enough Pixi doesn’t sell these anymore I think, they’re nowhere to be found on their website.
So sad, *spoiler* I love the formula lol! If i’d known this before I would’ve jumped on them sooner to be honest.

pixi

zuzana

Ingredients

Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Diisostearyl Malate, Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Simmondsia Chinenses (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Dimethicone, Fragrance (Parfume), Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Tocopherol, Simethicone, Palmitoyl-Oligopeptide, Octyl Palmitate, Sorbitan Iso Stearate, Toribehein. May Contain: ] Yellow 5 Lake (CI 17140), Red 6 (CI 15850), Red 7 (CI 15850), Red 30 (CI 73360), Barium Sulfate, Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499), Synthetic Fluorphlogopite

Smell

This thing smells SO good. The first thing that went through my brain when I applied the gloss was hmm yeah, comfortable and flattering. The second was THIS SMELLS GOOD I WANT TO EAT IT.

It smells exactly like these (no joke):

We call them “zure matten” over here, don’t know if they’re known allover the globe lol?
Edit: I looked it up, and apparently they’re called strawberry belts! :)

Packaging

pixi

pixi

zuzana

Fun, fresh packaging. Feels good holding it as well, it’s kind of a chubby stick.

It has a little twisty-cap at the end, and a brush at the front. The brush is sort of annoying, too long, it feels like a seal’s petting my lips with his flipper. It is hygienic though, seeing as you don’t add baceria into the tube.

Now for what really surprised me:
Looking at these see-through click pen applicators I always think there’s so little product in there. However 4 ml, that’s a good amount! Almost double of what you get in a Mac dazzleglass, and almost 3 times as much as a Clinique lip smoothie! (I don’t buy from either anymore, but wanted some mainstream examples to compare to)

Colors & pigmentation

There were 7 shades, from neutral to raspberry and bright pink. Those seem lovely too, buhu..

Zuzana is a sheer raspberry/watermelon color, no glitter whatsoever.

zuzana

zuzana

I know, this is awkward for me too. First close-up, yay for pushing boundaries?

Texture

Lovely. Not sticky at all, and kind of thick. Feels incredibly luxurious on the lips. It doesn’t sting my lips either, but does plump them. Don’t know about the “restoring collagen” part though, i’d have to go to a lab for that.
Aa! It just came to mind that I forgot to take a before-shot! I’ll add that later, oops!

This formula feels so moisturising as well, I can imagine it being ideal for fall.

Staying power & quality

Once it dries (which takes a while) it stays on for a couple of hours, unless I eat. Then not much remains, but it’s a gloss after all. let’s say – for a gloss – it has great staying power!

The verdict

They’re expensive, retailing for $16, which is why I deducted one star, I was thinking of giving it only three stars actually however you can find them cheaper online AND this is easily one of the best glosses I have ever tried. That’s about it, they’re just lovely!

I wish they would come back to be honest, does anyone know whether the vitamin lip silks have the same formulation?

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on September 18, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’ll have to check my local Target to see if there’s any of these left in the Pixi section!

  2. What color did you use on your hair? Did you do it yourself?

    • I did! It’s UV turquoise by Stargazer. Went to a hairdresser once to get my hair dyed, that was when I came from auburn hair, because I had to get it bleached thoroughly once to be able to move on to blue. But then I made up my mind when I saw the receipt for that session lol. Never again I think, unless it gets really bad.

  3. Yummy! It looks like it tastes good. I love those strawberry things, I know we used to call the thinner ones sour straws :-) yum!

  4. I’ve never seen bubble gum like that, all stringy. But it all ends up in a wad anyway aye? ;)

Speak your mind!

