POP beauty eye magnet primer

Warm weather + the need for rice vinegar from the other side of town equals a sliightly cringing me but more importantly: perfect time to test out a new primer.

A while back I was planning on reserving a special section on my blog just for primer reviews, all these different brands are coming out with their own cruelty free primers, illuminators and whatnot. It’s become a real hype! And.. I love it.
Primers are a lovely item I think, why would you invest time in shadows if they’re going to be running off by the time you get dressed right!

Anyway I got a few new ones so I think it is time! Open the gates!

What a primer does:

it forms a barrier between your skin and whatever you put on top. It evens out your skin, and catches the natural oils in it, to make sure they don’t creep into your make-up and mess it up. There are face primers, eye primers, even lip and eyelash primers..
They come in translucent versions, as well as colored ones. The colored ones will make whatever you put on top POP even more!

Ingredients

Isododecane, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides, Bees Wax (Cera Alba), Silica, Boron Nitride, Mica, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Quaternium-18 Bentonite, Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Propylene Carbonate, Talc, Vitamin E (Tocopherol Acetate), Methylparaben, Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Propylparaben, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract

Smell

Faint artificial smell

Packaging:

pop beauty

pop beauty

pop beauty

I dig the look of it, so girly! As for functionality – this type together with a doe-foot applicator are my favorites when it comes to primer packaging. Except for the Urban Decay doe-foot lol! That was horrible! >_<

You can actually wash the brush at the front with these as well, just proceed to clean them the same way you do your other brushes.

The size of these is smaller than my hand, so they do fit in your travel bag!

Colors & pigmentation

pop beauty

pop beauty

Dark, no? I wish it came in a lighter color as well, maybe an ivory shade? This doesn’t make my shadows pop as much.

Texture

pop beauty

Compared to Essence I love stage liquid primer

As you can see the eye magnet primer is a mousse! This makes it dry a lot faster than liquid primers, and I find it easier to work with as well. Just dab some on my lid and smooth it out with my fangers!
Ah man the word finger has been cursed forever in my brain. All because of an old hip hop song me and a girlfriend used to laugh with. (this one, should you somehow be interested haha)
The song is open for debate, fangers.. bagels..

ANYWHO the main deal is it had a very comfortable, soft texture, I enjoyed applying it. It’s great at mattifying your lids and smoothing them out as well.

Staying power & quality

This was my make-up in the morning:

pop beauty

Of course I pull this face every time I push hair out of my face, what do you mean?

I put a matte white everywhere, the light green is from the 88 shimmer palette (third row, four down) and in the crease I have Catrice’s Petrol Keeps Me Running!

And this was waaay at the end of the evening, having hiked through the sun:

pop beauty

So.. It did crease. It doesn’t have the staying power my UD primer potion does, I actually have the feeling this has the same staying power as my Essence one. Good for a normal day, but not heavy duty.

About 4 hours when active in humid weather, and in cold weather about 8 i’d say. (Keep in mind that I have very oily lids)

The verdict

hamtaro--img-m6169d25621df007eab0cde7665e725d3

This primer retails for $18.. for the price, i’d go either for the UD primer potion or if you’re on a budget the Essence one is just as good, for $3. It takes a little longer to dry, but that’s not worth the 16 bucks-difference!

I gave it two stars instead of one for the Chamomile, Vitamin E in it though, the budget one doesn’t have that.

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on September 14, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, Primers, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. That is such a pretty look! Please enlighten me on the colors you used! Snap yo fangles ^_^ I started doing the head shake- thing the second I read the word :-p

  2. My wife just looked over your website, says you have lots of good information. Your smile is so cute. ;)

  1. Pingback: Primer Galore! | lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

