POP Beauty Lid Gold

Oh yea that’s right, i’m busting out another one!

The second palette I will be reviewing is one from option 2 in my giveaway, the lid gold eyeshadow palette!

Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Magnesium Stearate, Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Octyl Palmitate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), Polyethylene Teraphthalate

Packaging

lid gold

lid gold

lid gold

Nice size, comes with a spongetip applicator, and the magnetic closure is handy. It’s flimsy though. It traveled with me for one weekend in my make-up bag and ended up like this:

lid gold

I might have upped the drama a little but you catch my drift!

Besides that, no mirror, boo! The eye pop trios are much handier in that aspect. A fun little tutorial for inspiration-less days took its place which can be handy. But you still won’t be able to place the eyeshadows in the correct place without a mirror now will you!

Smell

I’m really starting to think it’s the POP beauty glue. The smell of these is lighter than the trio ones, but it still reminds me of glue or disinfectant lol! Not a standard cosmetic smell, really something I can’t place. If you win one of these, please let me know what you think!

Colors & pigmentation

lid gold swatches

click me!

A nice neutral palette this one, it would’ve been awesome (in my opinion) if there was one really happy popping color in it though, like a bright fun grassy green? In any case! The colors are following:

1: blackened brown with a tiny bit of gold shimmer, not noticable once applied unless you really try.

2: your typical dark olive bronze, has a metallic finish.

3: lovely bronze champagne color, also a metallic finish!

4: yellow gold, velvet finish.

5: pale mint color with gold sheen, velvet finish. (nice on green eyes)

6: ivory with a coral/pink duochrome, reminds me of Nanogold by MAC or an old Bodyshop shadow I have, this has a velvet finish as well.

The only matte color here is number 6, you really don’t catch any shimmer in that one. However, I don’t miss the matte shades, seeing as these aren’t full-on shimmery. They will make your lids look healthy and radient, instead of resembling a disco queen (I meant for that to sound terrible however I failed, disco queens are fantastic).
And then the matte still gives you a nice mix of textures on the eye if you like some more depth.

It is a nice selection of colors, overall. But see I can’t be very enthousiastic if it doesn’t at least have one bright color! However that’s my problem, not everyone else’s!

Texture

As with the pop eye trio, they’re soft buttery, and easily blendable, but they can be chalky (fallout alert). On the picture I used a milky base underneath, and once again that makes them show up true to color.
What I conclude from that is that the pigment in them is nice, however being so soft it needs something to stick to. The texture could use some work to make them less powdery.

The regular price for these is on the high side I think, I would personally go for the eye pop trios then. Only three colors, but more of each color, a mirror, and sturdy packaging. However if you get them on sale, like me, they’re great for the price!

Staying power & quality

POP beauty shadows are supposed to stay put without a primer, but i’ve yet do discover a shadow as great as that! I have oily lids though.

The verdict

It’s a nice palette, I just wish it came with a mirror for travel. Besides that I think the price is a bit too high for what you get, however like I said if you can get them in a sale, perfect! 4 stars then.

These retail for around $24.

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on September 13, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Your blood and horrified guy face about what happened when you carried it in your bag with you for a week just made me laugh. Thanks for that, but it’s a shame!

  1. Pingback: Loot + giveaway!! « lifeofbun

  2. Pingback: POP Beauty Lid Silver « lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

