POP Beauty Belsize Park

Time for another trial and tell! ^_^
I’ve been playing around with this eye pop trio first, the one that’s also featured in my giveaway!

Quick sidenote: i’m so happy I got a hold of all the PIXI and POP products, apparently there really aren’t many reviews to be found about these brands so I can help put the products I like out there. YEUHS!
I love “helping” cruelty free brands!

Here we go!

Ingredients

Mica, Magnesium Stearate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Dimethicone, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Polybutene, Isopropyl Myristate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Black Iron Oxide (CI 77499), Yellow Iron Oxide (CI 77492), Red Iron Oxide (CI 77491), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Carmine (CI 75470) (CI 75470), Chromium Oxide Green (CI 77288), Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), Silica (CI 77891), Oxide (CI 77861), Mica & Titanium Dioxide & Iron Oxide (CI 77019, 77891, 77491), Ferric Ferrocyanide (CI 77510)

Packaging

belsize park

 

belsize park

belsize park

belsize park

That’s just.. o_o super duper, can’t even tell – cute! It’s a small palette, half my hand, and it’s made up of cardboard, but it doesn’t feel cheap. Love the design on the outside!
As for the inside, I didn’t expect a mirror to be in there haha! Such a fun surprise. You can’t tell very well in the picture but it’s a decent mirror as well, not one of those wallsticker-kinds.

The entire thing is about as big as a pocket mirror, and it’s magnetic, perfect to travel.

Smell

The inside has a very faint.. how to say this in a subtle way.. meh nevermind: disinfectant smell. It’s odd.. however I do have to get really close to smell it. It might be the glue from the pans?

Colors & pigmentation

belsize park

belsize park

Light:
First of all, let’s just say hail POP Beauty for putting highlighter in their palettes! This again makes them perfect to travel with!
Like i’ve said before, I generally get annoyed when pallettes just have lid & crease colors..
I don’t want to have to take a seperate highlighter with me!

The light color is an extremely faint light green shade. Perfect for use under the browbone, and on the inner corner, the green isn’t overpowering. It does have a shimmer to it, so beware if that makes you cringe!

Lid:

This shade is great, especially with my hair lol! It’s a straight up turquoise with the tiniest bit of gold shimmer to it, just to give it some structure.

Line:

I don’t line with this, i’m addicted to extremely black liquid liner. However this color is amazing for smokeys.

It’s a blackened midnight blue with some sparkle to it, much like deep truth by MAC but darker.

Overall the range of shades in this palette isn’t neutral but can be used in a light manner, the turqoise on the lid, blended up toward the browbone with some brown/black liner gives you a fun summer vibe. Then packing that liner color on the outer corners of your eye makes it vampy. It has good day-to-night value :)

Texture

They’re extremely soft and buttery, they blend like a dream, BUT they can feel a little chalky. On the picture I used a milky base underneath, and as you can see that makes them show up true to color. So altogether the pigment in them is nice, but the texture could use some work to make them less powdery.

Then again, for the price, they’re good, plain and simple.

Staying power & quality

In a sales pitch I heard they’re supposed to stay put without a primer, but i’ve yet to come across a shadow that lives up to this promise. Then again I have my own little oil factory going on.

The verdict

I want mooore! Simply nice shadows for the price, would be cool if they sold them individualy as well. There’s one more of these waiting in my stash, which is Park Lane if i’m not mistaken… having tried this one out, I think that neutral one will become on of my go-to palettes when traveling, which is every single week so i’ll get my use out of these.

Let’s be honest, the mirror definitely gave this an extra star.

Pop trio palettes retail for about $7.99.

What do you think of that packaging?? ^_^

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on September 12, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I just have to ask… how do you manage to use all that stuff? :) I mean, you have SO many cosmetics and their best before date is sadly not that long, do you manage to use them up before or… ? I have only several lipsticks/shades etc but I have yet to master the art of using them until it’s time to throw them, and I hate throwing things away :(

    • I really don’t, at least not my eyeshadows. I just like playing around with tons of colors too much. But then I own 1 mascara, two kinds of foundation since this week (matte and HD), and 1 liquid liner because those go bad really fast! I’ll use them up even if I don’t like them very much to be honest. :P
      Sometimes I think ahh someone is going to be really happy when they inherit my stash haha!
      I can imagine you hate that.. :/ however lipsticks can be kept for years as I wrote in that “bacteria like foundation too” post a while back.
      It’s the concealers, foundations, mascara, liner, and nail polishes that go bad on you so very fast.. I refuse to chuck my polishes though. -_-‘

      • The lipsticks and powder are the worst for me – I never ever use them up, even if their best by date is sometimes up to 2 years. And then they just go into the trash can, and it’s SO sad.

        It’s better with nail polish because when it gets dry you can “revive” it, so it can live on for years, and the nails are the only part of my body that I don’t pamper with eco stuff, so I just buy chemical polish, then add chemical liquidifier and bingo :)

      • By the way, thanks so much for once again helping me with my Dutch text. If I can ever do something for you too, let me know please.

      • It’s fine! :P also, I really have to compliment you on your use of “dt”.. I think about 70% of the Dutch population still makes errors with that even.
        I did too, however then I found a little trick har har!

  2. Oh I love the packaging, it’s so nice! Beautiful pigments too :)
    I don’t know if you know about my makeup blog by the way…? It’s http://daphyin-makeupisart.blogspot.com I’d love you to check it out.

  1. Pingback: Loot + giveaway!! « lifeofbun

  2. Pingback: POP Beauty Lid Gold « lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

