POP beauty no show concealer

Haj!
I slept horrible last night, which means the perfect moment to review a concealer!

Pop beauty is one of the brands that surprised me the most last month, I really didn’t expect them to be cruelty free. Their products had been popping up all over my screen for a while, kept making me curious, and now last week there was a sale! Fate!
So the concealer i’ll be blogging about is the no show concealer! Imma get right into it! ^_^

Promises

concealer

Aie, blurry!!

Ingredients

Stick

Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Octyldodecanol, Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Polyethylene, Mica (CI 77019), Ozokerite, Iron Oxides (CI 77492, 77491, 77499), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Nylon-12, Barium Sulfate (CI 77120), Phenoxyethanol, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Caprylyl Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Hexylene Glycol, BHT.

Liquid

Water, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Cyclopentasiloxane, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Mineral Oil, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl PEG/PPG-101/1 Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Lauroyl Lysine, Glycerin, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Iron Oxides (CI 77492, 77491, 77499)), Sodium Chloride, Microcrystalline Wax, Zinc Stearate, Glyceryl Caprylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Beeswax, Tocopherol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Propylene Carbonate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Allantoin, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Tocopheryl Acetate.

Packaging

concealer

Handy! The liquid side comes with a doe-foot applicator, perfect for applying war paint on the go.

Smell

Sticking my nose all up in it, I notice a very very faint make up smell, but I smell nothing when using it!

Colors & pigmentation

The color range is horrible I think.. there’s color one two and three. I have the one, which is EXTREMELY fair, great for me, however as you can imagine the three isn’t that dark either. At the moment they really cater to light skintones. Then secondly, the undertone of this concealer is yellow, again great for me, but there are so many women out there with pink skin! In case you’re wondering just how yellow it is, scroll down to the texture section for a picture.

The pigmentation of the stick is really good! I used to buy a stick concealer from Nivea that did the job perfectly, but they’re not clear on animal testing so I gave it up! This one is just like that.

concealer

Flattering!

However the liquid concealer doesn’t cover much at all, it’s ridonkulously sheer for a “concealer”. I’d label it as a brightener then to be honest!

Texture

The texture of the concealer is good for me, it’s just one of those easy multi-tasking creamstick ones. My favorite type to use on the purple area next to my eyes, and on spots. It’s pretty creamy but not too much, which means it stays put. Just a nice concealer! However I don’t feel like it plumps fine lines, which it claims to do.

But then for the concealer liquid.. meh! I was hoping to use this under my eyes, seeing as it says treatment on the packaging as well. The liquid half to brighten up under my eyes and the stick side for next to my eyes, seems like a match made in heaven!

The texture looks really nice for under the eyes at first, I compared it to some other stuff here:

POP beauty liquid concealer, my current under eye concealer, Body Shop pink highlighter (just for reference, their parent company tests on animals and I don’t buy from them anymore)

But NO. Let’s demonstrate:

highlighter

It reaaally, and I mean really – creeps into fine lines. I liked my hand better before!
However I do use it as a highlighter on my cheekbones.

Concealer, no. Highlighter, yes!

Staying power & quality

Very nice! It does stay put really well, didn’t slip throughout the day.

The verdict

It’s fine, but expensive for what you get I feel.
I read pop beauty focuses on young girls, however what young girl would buy a concealer of $24!
Not an affordable brand, but you do get a highlighter and concealer in one.

The stick could be used under the eyes when you warm it up with your fingers, but it’s not handy. Then I would’ve liked to see the other half being something like touche éclat by YSL, only more pigmented. You know? Something you can actually use under the eyes, with a bit of fine shimmer in it maybe, that way it’s also fit for highlighting your cheekbones.
Multi-use for the win!

Any must-tries from POP beauty I should know about?
AND don’t forget the giveaway! I’m going to keep saying that for another week! ;) reviews for that are coming up, taking pics like a mad woman!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Speak your mind!

