Favorite easy hot weather veggie food!

How I wish I was with my family in Holland right now!

Something we do a lot with this heat, is throw some plates and wine glasses on the table in our yard, invite the whole family, and eat one of my favorite dishes in the world:
Baked potatoes, with a ton of different fresh veggies from local farmers, served with gorgeous vinaigrettes.
Sometimes steak or prawns may be served with it, but that’s completely unnecessary. You can make your own falafel to go with it though if you want a little veggie added plus!
Hmm.. I was just going to share my favorite vinaigrettes but here’s the recipe I use for falafel as well :)

Falafel

yoghurt salad

While looking for a picture, I stumbled across this one, it has an amazing looking yoghurt-dille salad, looks YUMMY!
Here
‘s the recipe, i’ll be trying that salad out this week.

However this is falafel:

I don’t know how to describe the taste exactly.. but the chick peas taste nice and creamy, and they just overall have a very versatile flavor!
It’s no wonder falafel is the number one snack sold on every street corner in the Middle East.

The ready-made ones are good, but the ones you make yourself are always better!! They require a lot of ingredients, but once you have those the hardest part is over haha!

What we’ll need:

  • 1 cup chick peas (if dried, let them soak overnight in water, but you can generaly buy them canned as well.)
  • 1 chopped large onion
  • 2 crushed cloves of garlic
  • fresh chopped parsley
  • coriander
  • ground cumin
  • chili pepper/dried pepper flakes
  • salt & pepper
  • salt
  • pepper
  • optional: 1 1/2 tbsp flour
  • optional: some lemon juice
  • vegetable oil for frying
  1. First of all we need the chick peas to be soft and yummy! So bring some water to a boil, and let them simmer in that for about an hour.
  2. Drain them, and let them cool.
  3. Now for the fun part: chuck everything into a bowl and mush it!
    Make sure the ingredients are well-mixed. It’s up to you if you’ll be mushing the chick peas completely, I sometimes leave them a bit bigger when I feel like it, it adds some texture!
    If the mixture is too dry, you can add some olive oil to it, if it’s too wet, you can add some breadcrumb / flour to it!
  4. Now roll them into a ball, and you can deep-fry them.
    I usualy don’t do that though, I flatten them into a mini-burger so that I can just bake them in a bit of olive oil on high heat. Makes them nice and crispy as well, but waaay less fatty!

Then for my favorite dressings at the moment:

Tomatoes

  • Mayonnaise
  • Mustard
  • Vinegar
  • Nut oil
  • Salt & pepper

Cucumber

Either just some vinegar (i’ll put tarragon in my vinegar and let it soak for 2 weeks to create my own tarragon vinegar, tasty!) or:

  • Mayonnaise
  • Crushed garlic
  • Chopped scallions
  • Yoghurt
  • Salt & pepper

Lettuce

This is my grandma’s recipe, i’ve known it since I was small, she still makes it, and it’s still my favorite so far! Sweet, fresh and a bit spicy!

  • Oil
  • Mustard
  • Apple vinegar
  • Chopped small onion
  • Salt & pepper
  • Ginger syrup (sooo good!)
  • Optional: tiny bit of coconut milk

Please enlighten me with more AWESOME dressings to try this summer! :)

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on August 18, 2012, in Box o' food, Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Mmm falafels, can you imagine I didn’t even know about there existence until I became a vegetarian? I shudder to think of all those years when I did not eat them :) I’d love to try your grandma’s dressing but I have no idea how to make the ginger syrop…

    • Haha being a vegetarian makes you experiment huh! And you can buy it in the supermarket here.. However i’m pretty sure you can make it yourself as well.. i’m curious now, i”m going to look that up to try out.

  2. Wow I am about to drool 3 more days until payday and I am thinking this is about to happen! lol it looks sounds so delicious haha.. okay not going to rant but yeah totally going to make these!

  3. Lovely! Thanks for sharing the recipes.

  4. Wow, this sounds delish!

Speak your mind!

