Montagne jeunesse chocolate mask

Quick post before I go out for dinner and drinks with Hippo! We’ve been together for 4 years now, so time to pop a bottle! :)

The day before my interview I decided to slap on a mask, it really felt like I needed one. Little bumps everywhere, flaky nose and forehead, blackheads all over. Very weird, you’d say my skin went on a little party tour.
I would’ve gone for the fruit smoothie mask, however they didn’t have that one in stock so I went for the deep cleansing chocolate mask instead. My intention was to get something that would give me a bit of a cleanse, but at the same time give a serious nourishing boost!

Chocolate Masque

Purpose

The choclate mask is supposed to be a creamy delight, with crushed Cocoa and ultra-moisturising Shea to leave skin silky soft. The Mediterranean Clay makes sure your skin gets cleansed and the sea salt gives it a nice glow.

Packaging

Same as the other Montagne Jeunesse masks. There’s a good amount of product in the sachet, and it’s very hygienic, but still annoying! It was even worse with this one though.
Well, no it wasn’t, it was exactly the same. Only this time there was brown creamy stuff slathered all over my hands and the sachet. Which made it 10 times worse in my head.

Smell

Ick, didn’t care for it at all. Artificial sweetness, not really chocolaty.. not fresh either. Just off!

Texture

Same as the fruit smoothie mask. Creamy, easy to apply!

Formulation

A clay mask again, so it hardens out to seal your skin off from air temporarily which makes the nutrients penetrate the skin better. It doesn’t harden out as much as the previous ones though i’d say. It stayed fairly creamy.
Besides that, no noticable effects once it was on my skin!

Effect

With the dead sea mud pac, I could really feel my skin prickling, that mask was really drawing everything out that shouldn’t be there! However when feeling no active ingredients in this one I kind of predicted it wouldn’t cleanse much, and as expected it didn’t. It did remove superficial dirt though, some of the blackheads were gone. But a real cleanser, definitely not.
After washing it off, my skin did feel pretty nourished again, which was goood since I brought a light, water-based foundation to wear the next day. A pretty watery foundation, so I couldn’t have any of it getting stuck behind the skin flakes! (Mmh, tasty.)

The verdict

It’s not a horrible mask, but if you want your skin to be nourished, there are tons of other Montagne Jeunesse options out there! And for a cleansing one that nourishes as well, i’d still rather go for the fruit smoothie.
Generally I don’t feel like this mask did much for my skin, it was an okay pick-me-up with the shea butter in there, and the sea salt did make my skin look fresh.
But there really are much better options out there!

A 20 gram mask runs for £1.09 on their website. As a customer, you’re able to select masks according to skintype, ingredients, etc. as well as see which ones are vegetarian, and vegan.

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Masks, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hey, congratulations! Is Hippo a real name? :)

  2. Congrats on your four years! And too bad the mask can’t be eaten… ;)

  3. Congrats to you and Hippo! Sorry the mask didn’t do what you’d hoped but you at least had the pick-me-up before going out.

Speak your mind!

