Lush update!

I didn’t get the job!

Boo!

I got through the first set of tests, so therefore I got to do a trial run for two hours which was basically a selling contest. Doing the trial was such a weird feeling, I really felt in place but at the same time completely out of place! Throughout those 2 hours I kept the phrase “sell sell sell!” in the front of my head, but that made me feel bad for 2 reasons.

First: I don’t want to just go up to people and point them to a product they don’t necessarily want, or didn’t calc into their budget for that month.
We all know how it feels to set one foot outside of the store, be $50 lighter all of a sudden, and think “Shit. What the hell did I just buy.”
I studied all of the products online, and being a strong believer of herbal medicine, I really wanted to guide them toward the thing they needed most, and the best choice for that.

Second: when sales advisors are too pushy, I personally smile friendly but then just walk away.
While being on that floor, I kept feeling like I was hogging people. Letting them browse, and give advice when it looks like they need it seemed so much nicer.
I can imagine that being way more fun for them instead of saying “Yeah but do you know what this is? I think you need this.”! :)

Anyway, enough with the ranting! Maybe i’ll become more comfortable in that role as I go through more different kinds of jobs, my experience level just wasn’t enough right now when it comes to selling products.
I really do believe in their products and stance against animal cruelty though, so i’ll always love the brand.

PLUS we got a goodie bag, which was a nice reward! Even though mine was missing one product.
Let’s all do an aww moment for the sad panda, come on. Aww. (Q_Q)

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on August 7, 2012, in Box o' thought, Random twirlings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. They definitely lost a very valuable employee, too bad for them! As much as I like Lush in general, I HATE their way of pushing people into buying stuff. If replied politely but firmly with “no, thank you, I don’t need your help right now” and they still bother me after that, their chances of getting sales from me are getting very thin. I never thought about that before but I guess I’m lucky to work in b2b sales. It’s the other way around then – instead of persuading customers to buy from us, often they try to persuade us to sell to them lol.

    • That’s the way to be honest, well at least the humane way. The products are very good indeed, they sell themselves really! But that’s not enough for them to make the money they need to expand really fast.
      The shops are very fun, and open, but to keep their good name, maybe they should cut back a little on the pushing..

  2. Awww that sucks. :-( Don’t let them get you down though. If it is meant to be it will all work out. :-)

  3. mothernaturessnuggery

    Sorry to hear you didn’t get the job, but that’s their loss! I’d rather have someone advising me in a shop than pushing products, but then that’s how sales advisers make their bucks I guess. I used to work in telephone sales for satellite TV (10 years ago now…) and decided to leave after three months – realised it wasn’t for me when I managed to talk a single mother with four children into getting rid of her satellite TV & switching to freeview!! I feel different selling my own stuff though, that’s something I have real passion for :) Keep looking, you never know what you might find!! X

    • Oh that sounds like an awful job! I’d feel horrible as well! But that’s really one of the standard things you have to be able to do as a sales advisor. Selling your own products is an entirely different story, you’re your own boss then, and your name is on the line as well, I never believe you’d push your products on people that don’t need it!

  4. Those pushy salesman get my backside quickly too. Keep on trying. :)

  5. Their loss for sure! At least you gave it a go – you never know if you don’t try!! :-)

  6. big aww approaching -> AWWWW : (

  7. The fools, like so many big companies they have no idea what their clients want, I hate pushy sales people and will actually approach the ones who dont chase me round a store instead, it is there loss and will be someone elses gain

    • Lol same, i’ll smile and wave, and not buy anything if they’re too pushy. However some do win me over, and then I end up buying unnecessary stuff, budget gone.
      Thanks for the virtual pat on the back haha :)

  8. Shame but, if you’re not happy in what sounds like a basic sales role, you’re better off out of there.

Speak your mind!

