Milani Lip Flash Pencils

Sharing time again, another Milani review. This time about their Lip Flash Full Coverage Pencil.
Mouth full right?

What they promise:
The convenience of a pencil with the application of a lipstick. Each one allows you to line, define and perfect your pout in one easy, simple application. Begin by applying from the center of your upper lip and work your way to the outer edges. Same application is used for your bottom lip.

I got 3 out of 8 colors: Photo flash, Flash light, and Flashy.
Judging time!
Again, I took the lip swatches on a full face because that’s the way I like to see them online!
The order is bare lips – one coat – two coats! Feel free to click them for full size.
I conveniently forgot to take a picture of bare lips, so i’ll insert the same one as last time LOL.

First off,  Photo flash: a vibrant raspberry with raspberry shimmer.

Milanin Lip Flash Photo Flash

Flashy: a bright fuchsia with fuchsia shimmer.

Milani Lip Flash Flashy

Flash light: an orange-toned red with red shimmer.

Milani Lip Flash Flash light

Packaging

Milani Lip Flash Packaging

Fun, throw in your purse/backpack/pocket-packaging, super handy! The color of the lippie is also the same color as the tube, and it has a see-through cap. No confusion no’ mo’!
You’ll be needing a giant freaking pencil sharpener for these though, they’re the same size as a NYX jumbo pencil.

Smell

Generic make-up smell. No added perfume, so they smell like those clown sets you can buy your local Halloween-store.

Colors & pigmentation

In total there are 8 colors available. Two of them being more nude, that’s Star Flash, a very light baby pink, and Lip flash, a bronze. But the rest is pretty much very bright. Overall this is probably not the range you want to be going for if you’re a person that enjoys their nude-tude most.
You can sheer these out to a nice flush on the lips, if you’re very careful with them (like the Milani Haute Flash, these are EXTREMELY pigmented) and work them in with a brush or your fingers. You’ll still be able to tell you’re wearing a lippie though because of the glitter.
Now that we’re on the subject of glitter, I love the color they picked for all of these, Milani is so good with this!
The glitter matches the color of the pencil so it makes your lips look shiny and plump!

Texture

Do you hate the feeling of glitter on your lips? RUN! There’s definitely some grittiness going on with these since the grain isn’t finely milled. Not a lot though, it doesn’t bother me at all.
The overall texture of these is a bit waxy and sticky I would say, not as smooth as a gloss or a creamy lipstick.
However these apply so extremely easily. As with a pencil, you can easily rim your lips with them and they don’t bleed, but they’re muuuch smoother than a lip pencil!

Staying power & quality

The fact that they’re waxy makes them stay put very well, for hours on end, IF you don’t eat.
I tested this by eating an icecream (what a nice excuse for icecream) and they came right off. Drinking works, but you do leave marks on the glass. So again, it will come off.
You can always solve this by applying a thin layer and really working them into the lips though, but then you won’t get the full impact of the color and glitter.

The verdict

I was doubting whether to give these a 3 or 4 star rating!

The thing is, I love the formulation, I only wish they’d stay on a bit better. I like my lips to not mark everything they touch that day!
I still enjoy wearing them though, and still wear them out.
But to go to work/school for example this would probably not be such a good choice as you probably don’t want to be reapplying throughout the day.

These retail for $6.99 on their website! Milani is quickly becoming my new favorite inexpensive cruelty free lip brand.

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on July 25, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. These look fabulous on you! Flashy is my favorite! :-)

  2. Oooh it’s because of you that I will go bankrupt!! I’m looking at all those pictures and make-up ideas, and I feel the urge to immediately buy some new stuff. Bad girl! :) And because I’m now sticking to eco brands only, it costs a lot :( But hey, it will be good to try new colours, right? That’s a very important money investment :D

    • It’s true, often they cost tons! I sometimes wonder if it’s the actual cost of durable ingredients or just because they can put “ecological” on there? Because in America for example you seem to have way more brands just in drugstores, that offer ecological cosmetics at a reasonable price (and shipping!). But here, often the eco eyeshadows cost more than a MAC shadow.
      But yeah I think it’s a very important investment though indeed, what’s life without color! It would be so bland! :) it makes me happy in the morning, getting to pick a color to mark that day haha!

      • Exactly, I don’t understand why 90% of people only wear black or grey ALL THE TIME!! We’re so lucky to live in the 21th century where almost everyone can afford colourful clothes. Before it was only a privilege of the selected few.. so why not enjoy it?

        As for the eco stuff, I think the companies are making it more expensive than it really is, on purpose, to get more money :( that’s sad really. Just think of it, unrefined and unbleached sugar (or flour) should be cheaper because you need less processes and so less expenses to produce. But it’s 2, 3 or 4 times higher in price that the “normal” stuff! So unfair… But as I have no choice, I’m buying it overpriced, trying to get local stuff whenever I can. Local ecological food is much cheaper, thank God.

      • Ah nice, that’s a big plus! Here in the city not so much. But a fellow blogger told me about a great initiative called community supported agriculture, I think she’s from america though, so I never thought they’d have that over here in little Belgium. But she told me to look it up and sure enough, they do! Close by even :D maybe you already go to one of them or?
        In any case, I think it could maybe save more money!
        As for cosmetics, are shipping prices also crazy for you? Cause there really are great deals out there for eco cosmetics but.. grr. If only the shipping..

      • I mostly buy eco cosmetics from Polish shops online. They are expensive because they are imported from other countries (mostly Germany) but not as expensive as they could be if they were from, say, Australia. So the shipment costs are not that bad for me. I usually stock up well in advance, ie buy 3 toothpastes, 2 shampoos etc to save time and money. The shipment in Poland (by post) costs about 2-3 Eur. However, I remember once I wanted to buy shoes from England… and guess what? the price of shipment was higher than the shoes!!

      • Haha so typical! It’s insane :P but like you say, when ordering in bulk it’s fine, as long as you know what you want!

Speak your mind!

