Stay in place, face.

We love DIY!

It’s summer again here in Belgium, full on, with temperatures skyrocketing up to 30° C. That may not sound very warm to a lot of you, but it’s scorching for us rain people! I don’t mind it though, when just lounging around in the garden.
However going out in the city in this heat is another, my face just melts off. All that remains is a little puddle of me. On the floor.
Now there’s been a BB-cream hype going on for a while right? But, why not make it yourself?
It’s perfect for this weather!

A BB cream, or Blemish Balm cream, is not the same as a tinted moisturizer, it’s a few steps above it.
Looking at the ingredients, the main difference is that a tinted moisturiser does exactly what it says, it’s a moisturiser with pigment in it. A BB cream however, is a moisturiser, sunblock, primer, and whateverelseyoulike, with pigment in it, in one.
BB creams are meant to be worn by themselves basically. They were once developed for German women, to wear after they had a laser treatment / skin surgery. By wearing these, you would cover up the redness, as well as heal your skin and protect it from rubbish in the air.

These are some nice over-the-counter, cruelty free BB-creams:
3 LAB: Perfect BB SPF 40
Skin 79: Super plus triple functions bb cream
Nude by Nature: BB 5-in-1 Miracle Cream
Jane Iredale: Glow Time full coverage BB cream
Marcelle: BB cream

The benefits of making these yourself is: you probably already have the ingedients, and it’s accustomed to your own skintone!
You can see why making your own would come in handy in the summer then right!

Here’s how we’ll do it, we’ll need:

As always, adjust ingredients to your own taste!

  • For a lighter consistency, put in some more moisturiser.
  • For it to stay put better on your face, or cover up your pores better, add some more primer.
  • In case it’s too greasy for your taste, don’t add as much sunblock/moisturizer.

You can add other things as well! If you’re using a certain supplement on your skin, like a serum, don’t hesitate to add a bit to your custom BB. I’d recommend not adding oils though.

Start by putting your foundation in the jar, use about half of the amount you would like to end up with.
Add your primer, moisturizer and sunblock in equal amounts, to fill up the other half.

Done!
This will look very natural, it’s so much more lightweight, and it’s way better friends with the sun than your foundation will ever be!

What’s your fav BB-recipe? :D

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on July 24, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Cosmetics, General, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I couldn’t agree more – I very much prefer the cold :) Not minus 15, but something ranging from +20 to -5 is the perfect temperature for me. When it’s more than +20, it’s depressing. The heat! We have the same problem here, you can’t breathe, you can’t sleep, whenever you walk outside you’re all sweaty and your face is a mess. That’s why my favourite seasons are spring and autumn :) Love the rain and the mild, soothing weather.

    Anyway, my recipe for one in all cream is basicaly the same, only I don’t mix ingredients :) I put my moisturizer first, my sunscreen next and, if needed, foundation/concealer/powder to finish it off.

    I always put sunscreen on my face to avoid brown spots but lately I’ve been more lax with my body. There’s been a lot of rumours about sun-protecting creams being a pure invention of cosmetic industry and doing nothing to actually prevent cancer. Some people go as far as say the sun is benefitial and cosmetics not. I don’t believe that but there’s no smoke without fire :) I’m very vitamin D deficient, and although I take supplement, my blood tests did not improve much. And as sunscreens block vitamin D production, I decided to overgo this part of my cosmetic routine, especially as I don’t have much exposure anyway – 10 minutes walk from home to the bus and then 5 minutes walk from the subway to the office. I will leave SPF cream only for those days when I’m outside for longer than an hour.

    But even vitamin D will not make me stop putting creams on my face :) Without protection, it quickly becomes a horror movie mask :)

    • Those seasons are the best! At least you can be active outside then right? In this hot humid weather you dissolve if you do too much haha!
      Good that you’re so aware of sunscreen and vitamin D by the way. I’ve never been that way, more often than not I go outside without wearing any. *walk of shame* at least when I put it into a mixture I don’t forget!
      Do you notice the lack of vitamin D well? Does it make you less active or?

      • Yeah it makes me tired and sleepy :( I also have a chronic condition which gets worse :( But now I’m taking the supplement and bathing in the sun a bit so I hope my levels will go up.

      • Ah yeah I see, that’s a hassle! I can imagine the exposure would help to be honest, i’ve always been told exposure to sun in the right amounts and building it up can cure many skin irritations/deficiencies. And homeopathic supplements is something I grew up with, my mom and grandfather both being homeopaths. I put great trust in those as well, I believe those can definitely keep your body in balance and relieve blockages. :)

  2. I hope your face is intact!

  1. Pingback: FOTD hot fudge « lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

