Semi-permanent dye upkeep

This will be a pretty straightforward post! I got some questions on how to keep your hair healthy when bleaching it, and how to keep semi-permanent dyes vibrant. I had some difficulty with this too at first, so I hope I can at least help some people by sharing my technique!

First of all, addressing the bleaching.

The first time I dyed my hair blue, I went to a salon where they bleached the crap out of it. I didn’t notice how dry my hair was at first, because they put all sorts of products in there to keep it looking shiny and soft. But as I washed those products out more and more it dawned on me that they’d fried it.
This was when they had used the strongest bleach they had, a 40 vol developer (twice). Which shouldn’t even really be used on your scalp, it’s better for highlights since there’s a chance it’ll burn your skin.
Since then i’ve just been using a mild decolorant on my roots (20 vol), to bleach it myself, and it works just fine. Doesn’t damage my hair as long as I look after it a little.

All in all, don’t be afraid of bleaching, just make sure you know your hair. If it’s sensitive or thin, don’t go slapping on 40 vol bleach every month. Two things though, as a general rule: don’t bleach it more than once every 3 weeks, wait untill your hair is greasy (then your skin has a protective layer, this does wonders against stinging!) and stick to the undamaged roots when you bleach it again. Don’t keep going over the ends.
In case you’re wanting to bleach your hair yourself in a cruelty-free way, here’s a nice suggestion:

manic panic flash lightning

These manic panic kits are praised by colorful-haired people all over the world!

Secondly, how I keep the color vibrant:

As anyone with semi-permanent dyes will tell you, adding some dye to your conditioner/mask works wonders, my conditioners and masks are blue.
You just use them as you would any other conditioner/mask. Wash your hair, apply (I do pin my hair up to avoid a blue back), and let it soak!

Here’s my redying and care process:

  • Every 3/4 weeks, i’ll get a decolorant and put that just on my roots. I make sure to stay away from the rest of my hair, as that has already been fried once.
  • After I rinse that out really well, I immediately apply my vegetable dye, which will condition it. And let that sit for however long i’ll be staying up that evening, usually 1 to 3 hours (with a shower-cap or bag over it).
    Tip: make sure when you rinse it out, to really rinse it well. Keep going until the water is pretty much clear. I’d say rinsing is the biggest hassle with colored hair.
    Confession time! At times I get lazy and don’t rinse it out completely, but then I pay for my crime when it starts raining. -_-‘
    Don’t worry, normally it’s fine when it rains since it’s just cold water. However when the water is sort of lukewarm and you’ve been lazy, you don’t want to be wearing white LOL.
    As an added note: make sure you have a colored towel, the first… 10 times you wash it. Else you’ll stain your white towels!
  • After i’ve rinsed it well, I apply a regular conditioner to seal in the color. That way I don’t have to worry about it transferring anymore.
    At this point I check if I have any blue on my face/ears/door.. if so, I just take some rubbing alcohol and remove it.
  • I wash my hair 5/7 times a week, which is not so good. But I compensate by washing it with a gentle baby shampoo, conditioning it, and using a mask once a week. I either use a DIY mask or this Novocrin one at the moment:
novocrin mask

The left one is the mask. The right one is a leave-in conditioner that I don’t care for.

It does the job for me, and is nice and easy to use. You just pop it on in the shower, take care of the rest of your business and rinse it out after 5 mins. Done!

  • Then if my locks needs some extra help during the week, i’ll apply a leave-in conditioner, and seal it with argan/olive oil.
    The leave-in conditioner i’ve been using is this one:

You can find this product here for $5.
It’s formulated for thick curls, so it’s the richest of the rich, super duper creamy. I put it mostly on the ends of my hair.

And then lastly the oil I use on top these days is this one:

Argan oil

I wrote a review about argan oil here

And that’s it. That’s really all I do to my hair.. Apart from it being bright, i’m not really much of a hair-girl LOL.

As you can see though, i’m all for using organic products on my hair. A lot of commercial drugstore products use all sorts of fillers, like silicones for example, to make your hair look shiny when it really isn’t. And even though my hair loves some silicone to make it look bouncy, i’d rather see the actual natural effects of products on my hair!

In case you’re interested in organic cruelty-free hair care, this is a beautiful list of all the things you can use!

Thanks for reading, I hope this was informational to some.
I’d love to read about your hair care experiences in the comments!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on July 18, 2012, in Blue dyes, Box o' appearance, Care, Hair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. It helped, thank you.
    Also I’ve found that vinegar is a strange thing. It takes die off skin but keeps it on hair.

  2. Thank you for this, it has some really helpful tips. And I’ll definitely try adding some of my colorant to my conditioner. However, I have a few questions.
    1. I wonder, what is your natural hair color? ‘Cause I could never get away with a 20 vol decolorant with my natural color.
    2. Also, you wash your hair five to seven times a week?! My hair is entirely bright red and if I washed my hair that often it’d be pink within four days. I constantly have the same problem with rain, as well. ‘Cause I actually cannot rinse my hair after the first dye till it runs clear, else it’ll be pink within two washes.
    So, what do you do differently? Besides cold water. I’ve heard that vinegar works.

    • Hey!!

      1) It’s dark brown, you can see it in one of my new posts:
      http://lifeofbun.com/2013/11/28/fote-purple-haze/
      And it worked but only for turquoise shades because it didn’t make my hair 100% white, it still had a yellow tinge. My next shade will be red pink or purple and for those i’ll definitely need a stronger one or a toner!

      2) For the second one, I did nothing odd! Just add the conditioner to my hair products! The shade didn’t last 6 months or something of course as you can imagine. I have my dry shampoos at the ready for the next time I go bright which should be within the week.
      Vinegar does work as well I hear, yeah! It works for laundry, so should work for hair pigment!

      Hope that helped!

  1. Pingback: Hairmorphosis « lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

