On to the source of youth with Montagne Jeunesse!

This morning (while looking for my Gosh lipstain that seems to have fled) I was walking around the house with an extremely unflattering mask on my face and so I figured, let’s share this with the world!

I try to make a habbit out of putting on a mask every week, so why not share those when I do.. It might be interesting for other oily skinned people out there! I’ll make a seperate category for masks.

The Montagne Jeunesse masks have been among my favorites for a while now, mainly because I can buy them in small packets that cost me around 1.50 euros each. If you calculate how much that is per kilo, it’s not cheap. Buuut I feel less bad about these since I can buy them in little packs that don’t burn my wallet. Ahh psychology..

In amsterdam they sold these awesome trial size-packets, so I picked up a few while I was there.

Fruit smoothie

Fruit smoothie

I adore companies that are open about their testing policies and ingredients! ..And this is a drugstore brand!

Montagne Jeunesse is a brand that sells various skincare products, while focusing on natural ingredients. They don’t specialize in one skintype, instead you can choose creams and masks according to your personal skintype, mood, and how much free time you have on hand.
I think a lot of people, like myself, put great value in this. Many low- as well as high end brands have nice masks, but they do absolutely nothing on sensitive or combination to oily skin. Their range is often way too small to cater to every skintype.

Purpose

Deep cleanse (yay blackheads) and moisturize your face. It should be like an awakening!
Suitable for all skintypes, even sensitive.

Packaging

A bit annoying. Getting the product out and putting it on your face at the same time equals a big mess. I still prefer this over a jar though, these packets are way more hygienic.
You do get a good amount of product, this pack of 5 grams is just enough to cover my face. The normal 20 gram pack is way too much, I don’t use masks more than once a week and as my boyfriend refuses to put one on, half of it goes to waste!

Smell

Light and fresh. I can’t stand masks that make my eyes tear up. At times seriously feel like i’m putting a cloth soaked in perfume on my face.

Texture

creamy consistency

Creamy as you can see, and no bits and bobs. Super easy to apply.

Formulation

It starts off as a cream, and hardens completely after a few minutes.

hardens

I wasn’t able to smile anymore!

This is a clay mask. By hardening up, it seals your skin off from air temporarily which makes the nutrients penetrate the skin. On my combination-oily skin, these hardening masks work best at clearing out my pores and making my skin soft as a peach.

Effect

It cleansed my skin nicely, and a lot of my blackheads had dissapeared. Not all of them were gone though.

As you can see on the picture the mask stayed pretty much intact as it dried up. When using an all-clay mask it tends to draw out even more dirt. The way you can tell this, is by looking at the mask as it dries. When you notice little dots appearing all over your face, where the clay seems to have “sunken in” to your pores, that’s when it’s really getting in there and taking care of business!

However, those are not as nourishing as this smoothie mask. This one really leaves my face soft, plump and radient after I wash it off. And when I apply my moisturiser after, my skin absorbs it right away.

The verdict

It would be even better if it cleansed my face completely as well. But then again I haven’t come across such a mask yet. And i’ve gone through quite a few!
This is just a simply a nice mask. This one, together with an avocado mask, are my two Montagne Jeunesse favorites.

A 20 gram mask runs for £1.09 on their website. They have an amazing website by the way, check it out here. As a customer, you’re able to select masks according to skintype, ingredients, etc. as well as see which ones are vegetarian, and vegan.

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on July 17, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Masks, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I love their face masks!

  2. Nice review. Hey, weird things are happening with my subscription to your blog! This morning there were 2 of them, so I deleted one, and then I discovered you have disappeared at all. Thank God I had the link on the classy anarchist blog. I wonder what is going on?? Then sometimes your posts show in my reader and sometimes now.. aaarh. So complicated, this wordpress stuff.

    • Yeah it’s bothering me as well, I can’t make sense of the subscriptions! I have so many people just not showing up in my reader at all…. The new ones I subscribe to do show up, but then all of a sudden I think “hey, I haven’t seen anything from that person in a while”, visit their blog manually, only to see that they’ve been posting every day since -_-‘
      I’m just bookmarking everyone now..

  3. Mask reminds me of the Phantom Of The Opera mask, that was an excellent play. Not sure they used clay but hey… Lovely photos! ;)

  4. I’ve tried the Clay-mask ,,,and indeed , my skins feels much better .thx he Miss Lifeobun.

  1. Pingback: Getting to the roots with Montagne Jeunesse! « lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

