There goes Urban Decay

Sadly enough, Urban Decay is expanding to China. For more information, check this link.

That means, since the animal testing policy is completely different over there, China has the right to test their products on animals now.
In the public statement, they claim to want to change the testing policies in China and make them stop.
By selling their tested eyeshadows there..
In my opinion, they were overpriced anyway. And now they’re moving to China for money – ahum – I mean to change the world?

They can claim whatever they want but as long as they test, I won’t be buying from them.
Yes their products were nice. But then, anything and everything can be duped. Just need to find the right source!

This doesn’t make me lose hope either.
Here’s the way I see it, as long as a good amount of people steers clear of these double-policy brands, the pressure stays on.

I’m keeping an eye on The Body Shop as well at the moment. Not sure what to make of their upcoming cruelty free campaign, whilst still being under the umbrella of L’oréal.

I made a petition to hopefully show Urban Decay their customers are not pleased. If you have the time, signing could make all the difference.
Let’s show them their customers aren’t happy!

What do you think?

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Being cruelty free, Box o' thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. And, of course, I signed the petition.

  2. I am totally disgusted. I never bought anything from them anyway, but it’s sad to see companies choosing profit over basic moral principles… Some people seem to believe in their “we’re doing this to change China’s policy” message but I am not one of those. Same for Bodyshop. In my opinion the best way to put pressure on a company is to buy from their cruelty-free, not-yet-in-China competition. And that’s exactly what I’m going to do :)

    • Thanks, yes that statement put me off…. The “We’re doing this to change China”… thinking their customers are dim-witted… Thanks for signing. I just heard NYX and EOS are expanding there as well.
      I’ll be posting in-depth about that when I’m back home.
      As long as these companies keep selling out, they won’t be getting my money. We don’t ‘need’ their products anyway to be honest!
      I hope more and more people will get inspired through the internet to do the same! Force the market to revise their policies!

  1. Pingback: Recap expanding brands « lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

