FOTD Candy Cane Swirl

Whenever i’m feeling extra sugary, I grab for my Catrice Pink Rock Superstar eyeshadow. Today, when grabbing for it AGAIN I realised if I love it so much, why not share a review about it!
I’ll combine it with a FOTD (face of the day).

  

Eyes:

I used a random turqoise from the 88 palette in the middle of my lid and up toward my nose. And then the Catrice shadow.. everywhere else.
Around my tearduct I applied a sky blue.
Just ’cause you gotta love clashing colors!
Popped some highlighter under my brows, and in my inner corner (Bourjois eyeshadow, 94 Citron Givré).
After that I winged out some liquid black liner, and added mascara.

Face:

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum, 52 Vanilla
Bourjois Healthy Mix Concealer, 51 Light Radiance
Disclaimer: A lovely reader let me know she read on a forum Bourjois might be tested on animals. I’m still looking into whether this is true, so I can’t guarantee Bourjois to be cruelty free. I personally won’t be buying from them until I do.
T. LeClerk Loose Powder, Banane

Cheeks:

Blush: 2B Cosmetics Mineral Blush 01
Contour: NYC Sun 2 Sun bronzing powder

Lips:

NYC  16h Lip Stain, 490 Persistent pink

As for the review:

I’ll cover all of the catrice shadow’s i’ve tested so far.
First some pics and swatches of course!

inside (without primer)

full daylight (also without primer)

Packaging

I know, packaging is no big deaal… but I am in LOVE with the packaging! It’s very sturdy, i’ve traveled with them a lot. But at the same time it feels classy and sleek! I love the see-through design.
Also, has to be mentioned, the names. COME ON! Dalai drama? How awesome is that!

Colors & pigmentation

Some Catrice shadows are better than others. The voilent voilet for example, is not as pigmented. It’s pretty, but not the shadow to go for if you want a full-on purple. Then again, the pink rock superstar and Dalai Lama are super nice and vibrant!
If we think twice though, you have that same issue at MAC, and so many other brands.
For the price of these Catrice shadows, the pigmentation is absolutely wonderful!

Besides that, they have quite a few colors available to experiment with. ^_^
They currently have 27 in their range. But come out with limited editions all the time, my fairy dust is one of those.

Texture

Tap off the excess, i’d say. These do have fallout.
But even though they have fallout, they’re not crumbly. So you can build the color onto your lid, if you want a vibrant application.

Use a dense brush, and lay the color down for the best result. Don’t swipe it over your lid. Just pat it on. You can blend after.

Price

These run for 2.79 euros a pop and they contain 2 grams of product!! >_< yeah! Go go! Get ’em!

Verdict

They have a bit of fallout, but that’s no biggie! You can always apply your foundation after.
Just look at what you get for the price!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on May 30, 2012, in Box o' appearance, FOTD, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s a really cool makeup!

Speak your mind!

