DIY scrubbing!

Let’s start off by saying I have oily skin.
YAY less rinkles! BOO blackheads and powdering our nose.

A while back, I officially declared war against my blackheads!

I’d splurge on getting a nice scrub and all that stuff..
The Clinique 7 days scrub cream is a lovely one.
But that’s 20-30 euros down the drain o_O
And to be honest, if you look at the ingredient list….. not that spectacular either.

After some time, I moved onto a cheaper brand, the Hema scrub cream for combination skin.
Which was fiiiine…. but it didn’t add much to my skin either!

Then I read about using sugar as your scrub.
This would be your main ingredient, and from that you could add whatever you like, to nourish your skin.

Enter the honey-olive-lemon-scrub!

My skin has really been benefiting from this concoction. LOL

The ingredients are:

  • Any sugar (I use unbleached cane sugar)
  • Honey (the runny kind)
  • Olive oil (I use extra vierge)
  • Optional: fresh lemon

And here’s how we make it!

Take a bowl, and poor in the sugar first. This way you can measure how much of the scrub you want. (let’s say 4tbsp)
Add the honey, not too much, you want it to stay clumpy and griddy.  (about 2 tbsp)
And then your olive oil, until you’re satisfied with the consistency. (about 1 tbsp)
When my skin is feeling a bit dull, I like to squeeze in a fresh lemon too.

Then when I hop into the shower, I clean my face, put this scrub on, let it sink in for a minute, and rinse it off.
It makes my skin feel so fresh!
Keep your scrub in the refrigerator, and you can use it for up to 3 days.

Let’s discuss ingredients!

Sugar
It works as a mild exfoliant, and is alpha-hydroxy rich.
So it will make your skin radiant. (not the nuclear kind, I promise) ^_^’

Second, is honey.
Honey is amazing, the list of positive effects on the body goes on and on.
It works as a natural antioxidant, has anti-macrobial properties, moisturises, heals and slows the aging process.

It’s no wonder women have been using it for AGES to treat their skin right?

Thrid is olive oil.
Don’t be afraid of olive oil. It will moisturise your skin without clogging it.
The molecules are too small to clog your pores.

Fourth is lemon.
Lemon brightens and softens up your skin.
It helps fade freckles and age spots you might have.
The citric acid in it works as a mild peeling, and it acts as a toner for oily skin as well. (FIGHT the blackheads!)

If you plan on brewing up this mixture at home, let me know what you think!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on May 23, 2012, in Box o' appearance, General, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I have tried this before (without the olive oil though) and its great!! I love ur version with the olive oil. Shall try that soon :)

  1. Pingback: I’ll tell you what that scrub is missing! « lifeofbun

  2. Pingback: Reversing skin damage « lifeofbun

  3. Pingback: DIY shaving help! « lifeofbun

  4. Pingback: Are you feeding or sealing? « lifeofbun

Speak your mind!

