Bourjois Countour pencils

My mom and I hung out together this weekend, and I came across an awesome deal on some Bourjois and UNE make-up! YAY!

I’m not quite sure how I feel about the UNE products yet, so i’ll share my thoughts on the Bourjois pencils first.

Disclaimer: A lovely reader let me know she read on a forum Bourjois might be tested on animals. I’m still looking into whether this is true, so I can’t guarantee Bourjois to be cruelty free. I personally won’t be buying from them until I do.

Bourjois Countour pencils

left 3: Bourjois Khôl&Contour. right 2: Lèvres Countour

Bourjois has always been high up in my list.
They don’t test on animals, and deliver great quality for the price range they are in.
(their Healthy Mix Serum foundation has been compared to the Chanel Aqua Lumière!)

As you can see on the swatch picture, Bleu évasion and original have a satin finish.
The other ones are all matte.

First of all, the eye pencils.

  • The colors are pretty nicely pigmented.

Why they are all called blue? No idea.
Bleu surprenant is a very vibrant grape colour, and the Bleu original is a teal..
They are okay as far as the pigmentation goes, not the best but buildable.
One swipe will get you a subtle color, 5 swipes a rich rolor.

  • As for the formulation

They go on pretty smooth, But aren’t AS creamy. They’re not as easy to work with as the make-up forever pencils for example.
But the formulation is good, especially the Bleu original goes on nicely.

The Bleu surprenant does need some smoothing over to look even though.
It’s a bit more dry and tricky, probably because it’s a matte.

  • Staying power

Even with an eyeshadow on top, they didn’t stay on my lower lashline for 16 hours (which is what they claim to do).
They started smudging about 8 hours after. But to be honest, for the price… Not bad at all.

  • The verdict

These retail for 5 euros, so the quality is good for the price range they are in.

I would say if you don’t wear bright eyeliners very often, and you want to step outside the box, try these.
They’re not crazy pigmented so wearable for everyday. And they won’t burn a hole in your wallet.

Now the lip pencils.

  • These ARE crazy pigmented

I love ’em! One swipe is all they need.
You could fill in your lips with these and you’re ready to go! The colors are amazing.

  • Formulation

Ahh.. So creamy.
No pushing down on your pencil required, one swipe and your lips are outlined.

  • Staying power 

They smoothe on like a dream. And DO not budge.

Right when I got home, I swatched these, and they stayed on my hand throughout the evening. I did the dishes, hung out in the couch, showered.
I had to use an oil-based make-up remover to get them off.

  • The verdict

Love love love the lip pencils, and they’re only 6 euros!!
Definitely pick these up if you get the chance!

I’d love to know what you think of them if you do!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on May 21, 2012, in Box o' appearance, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  2. You are a very bright person!

Speak your mind!

