En route to cruelty-free!

Here’s a little sum up of my journey toward cruelty-free goodness (^v^)

Let’s go back to when I was a teenager in high school!
We had to wear uniforms there (yuk) and it just wasn’t a very happy time for me, like for many people.
Luckily , in my senior year, I found an extremely attractive guy that tought me that playing videogames is a good thing, and that I can express myself more and it’s okay.
He now still is my best friend and boyfriend (^_~)
It started getting better then, but it was only when I graduated from there, that I started to find myself more.

Since then i’ve learned, that I put a tremendous amount of importance in colorful living, fantasy and all of that. I guess they secure my mental health LOL.

I love adding color to my clothes, face, anything. And was naturaly drawn to bright eyeshadows and lipsticks and what not. But whilst buying them, I had this annoying feeling inside of me. And couldn’t quite place it.

It’s so easy to lose track of where products come from! Companies have a good way of putting blindfolds over our eyes. It’s not like it’s written on there in big letters that scream out to our conscience. HEY, YOU, YEA YOUUU! YOU’RE HURTING ANIMALS! (that would probably help a lot.)

Then, about two years ago, I stumbled upon cruelty-free products. Now, I know it’s bad, but in my brain, animal testing for cosmetics meant putting lipstick on monkeys. So I didn’t think much of it at first. When I heard the word cruelty though, I realised that we as consumers need to take more responsability for what we buy.

Since then, i feel like i’ve evolved into a more responsible consumer. Especialy at the start of this new year, I feel i’m going to make a big evolution for myself. It has become clear to me how brands, and stores fool us. But I also feel like we can make a change, and I can make a change.

At this moment, i’m completely cruelty free as far as I know. I’m still looking up about it and learning new things almost every day. Some companies are really not what they appear to be, such as MAC cosmetics. One of the masters of trickery there, when you look a bit further.

Onto food. I’m not a vegetarian. I eat meat about once a week. Processed in something, like pasta-sauce. But even that i’m beginning to detest more and more. Trying to figure out how to take care of that health-wise. Let me know if you have any tips or suggestions on that :)

Sooo yea, that’s where i’m at at the moment!

About LifeOfBun

I'm a student from Belgium, but raised in Holland. My life evolves around animals, games, traveling, make-up, and COLOR. I seek for cruelty free awesomeness & alternatives to my favorite things each day. ^_^

Posted on January 12, 2012, in Being cruelty free, Box o' thought and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Speak your mind!

